Matt Tolan didn’t mind playing the waiting game Friday.

The 2016 Eau Claire North graduate and University of South Dakota senior teed off in the Ray Fischer Amateur Championship at 7:10 a.m. He finished his round at 5:45 p.m.

Tolan sat through a six-hour rain delay but played lights out in his return to the course. He shot a 7-under par 65 at Riverside Golf Course to take the early clubhouse lead.

Half the field did not finish the first round and is scheduled to be back on the course at 6 a.m. today to complete round one. Players were allowed to lift and replace in the fairway.

A thunderstorm bringing torrential rain hit Riverside at about 7:30 a.m. Friday.

The horn sounded to halt play, and with the course waterlogged, play was suspended until 1 p.m.

The tournament is still scheduled for 72 holes, with the field playing 18 holes today followed by Sunday’s 36-hole finale for the top 70 plus ties.

Tolan’s round included seven birdies and an eagle. He shot 31 on the front nine, including birdies at six, seven and eight.

“The last two years playing here, I’ve struggled with my putting,” Tolan said. “Today, I putted really, really well. I had only 28 putts.

“I grew up where you just went out and played and didn’t really worry about the conditions. And that’s how it was today.

The course, actually, was in really great shape considering all the rain we got.”

Tolan has a two-shot lead over Tyler Leach of Spring Valley and Owen Butler of Stoughton, who each shot 67. Lake Geneva’s Blake Wisdom is one of four golfers four shots back at 69.

Ben Skogen of Onalaska, who was second last year and shares the course record at Riverside with a 62, shot an even-par 72. He used the six-hour delay to go grab lunch and relax.

“Everyone has to make an adjustment, so you can’t make a big deal out of it,” Skogen said. “I just like to play, so I didn’t mind the wait much.

“And I had a chance to break 70, but I bogeyed two out of my last three holes. I was 2-under through 15.”

Six-time Janesville city champion Sam Van Galder had a 1-under par 71 to lead local golfers who completed their first round.

Two-time defending Fischer champion Jack Schultz was part of the afternoon pairings that did not complete the first round.

Ray Fischer Amateur Championship

At Riverside (Par 72) FIRST ROUND RESULTS (Only half the field completed first round)

Matt Tolan Eau Claire 65

Owen Butler Stoughton 67

Tyler Leach Spring Valley 67

Michael Bielawski Waukesha 69

Christopher Colla Fond du lac 69

Pete Kuhl Madison 69

Blake Wisdom Lake Geneva 69

Burke Barsamian Lake Geneva 70

Jakob Garstecki Germantown 70

Colton Duwe Oconomowoc 70

Adam Miller Adams 70

Jacob Michel Lodi 71

Andrew Morrison Edgerton 71

Jonathan Duggan Jr. Lake Geneva 71

Sam Van Galder Janesville 71

Alan Thompson Watertown 71

Max Pasher Mequon 71

Zachary Nash Waterford 71

Ben Skogen Onalaska 72

Jacob Schroeckenthaler Cottage Grove 72

Tommy Kriewaldt Madison 72

Dawson Hinz Middleton 72

Christopher Dupuis Chicago 72

Ben Gilles Madison 72

Maxwell Schmidtke Sheboygan 73

Ryan Hughes Cedarburg 73

Patrick Sicula Whitefish Bay 73

Charles Buhrow Brookfield 74

Brady Sarauer Fon du Lac 74

Elliott Nielsen Fond du Lac 74

Charles Maleki Mequon 75

Brett Grulkowski Franklin 75

Jensen Peck Mount Horeb 75

Tyler Beeck Sheboygan Falls 75

Michael Oellerich Brodhead 75

Joseph Ploch Oconomowoc 75

Alex Thompson Watertown 75

Quinn Schultz Chaseburg 75

Jackson Rehm Franklin 75

Jacob Beckman Middleton 75

Aaron Coffey Janesville 76

Matthew Davidson McFarland 76

Dylan Brown Reedsburg 76

Matthew Zimmerman Janesville 76

Tom Murphy Madison 76

Aaron Gavin South Milwaukee 76

Bentley Glass Fort Atkinson 76

Jeremy Brown Franklin 76

Logan Kranz Madison 76

Gregory Wagner Cambridge 76

Scott Erickson Sparta 76

Cole Soffa Madison 76

Nick Corban Madison 76

Joshua Haunty Middleton 77

Austin Erickson Sparta 77

Kirk Leitzen Brodhead 77

Jory Tess East Troy 77

Ryan Coffey Janesville 77

Michael Kletzien Milton 77

Brandon Liberman Walworth 77

Chris Kostrewa Wales 77

Ben Wiora:Wisconsin Dells 78

Eric Smetana-Bartz Waupaca 78

Nathan Boltz Elkhorn 78

Pete Holmes Waukesha 78

Daniel Hughes Cedarburg 78

Brandon Wilson Madison 78

Austin Gaby Verona 78

Nathan Stine Kenosha 78

Silas Pickhardt Madison 79

John Thomas Naumann Wales 79

Craig Hodgson Belleville 79

Ben Resnick Rice Lake 79

Joe Knapton Mt. Pleasant 80

Mitch Strom Appleton 80

Dylan Karvala New Berlin 80

Kyle Smith Grafton 80

Dave Ullenberg Brown Deer 80

Erik Hopp Appleton 81

Grant Boyson Neenah 81

Joseph Braund Eagle 82

Ethan Geidel Germantown 83

Matthew Severance Evansville 83

Devin Wilde Eagle 85

Andrew McIntosh Milwaukee 85

Nate Condon Cottage Grove 85

Andrew Duszynski Brookfield 86

Nate Farrell Janesville 89

Jason Atkinson Monroe 93

Steven Mordini Baraboo 96