The season ended Saturday night for the Janesville Jets.

Peter Morgan’s goal at 16:26 of the third period lifted Kenai River past Janesville 4-3 in an NAHL first-round playoff series. The Brown Bears won the best-of-five series 3-1.

Janesville, which won the Midwest Division title, led 3-1 after one period on two goals from Justin Thompson and another from Charlie Schoen but failed to score the final 40 minutes.

Kenai River tied the game at 3-3 in the third on Lucas Wahlin’s goal at 9:55 and Morgan got the game-winner at 16:26.

Owen Millward took the loss despite 29 saves.

KENAI RIVER 4, JANESVILLE 3Janesville 3 0 0—3

Kenai River 1 1 2—4

First PeriodJ—Charlie Schoen (Justin Thompson) 7:15. J—Thompson (Schoen) 8:52. KR—Brandon McNamara (Brandon Lajoie, Carter Green) 9:19.J—Thompson (Cade Destefani, Dominik Bartecko) 17:12

Second PeriodKNR—Max Helgeson (Morgan Winters, Lucas Wahlin), pp, 5:38

Third PeriodKNR—Wahlin (Daymin Dodge, Ryan Reid) 9:55. KNR—Peter Morgan (Helgeson, Carter Green) 16:26

Saves—Owen Millward (J) 29, Luke Pavicich (KNR) 23


Recommended for you