Janesville Parker’s wrestling team took the defending Big Eight Conference champions down to the wire Thursday night.

The Vikings were tied with host Sun Prairie with just two matches remaining, but the Cardinals won the final two bouts on the way to a 42-33 dual-meet victory.

“We were right there; we were really close,” Parker coach Daniel Jackson said. “The most impressive thing about it, I don’t think the final score even does it justice with just how well we wrestled. We battled every single match.”

AJ Miller and Bailey Ellefson picked up early pins for Parker to take a 12-6 lead.

“AJ came out and got a fall, which was an awesome way to start,” Jackson said. “And then Bailey avenged a loss from last year.”

The Cardinals won the next five bouts to take a 33-12 lead.

Then momentum swung back to the Vikings, as they won four straight matches at the lightest four weights, including pins from Tristan Buol, Daniel Smith and Brett Perkins and a sudden victory for Nicolas Lux at 120 pounds.

“All our seniors really stepped up, including Brett,” Jackson said. “The Lux match was awesome. We’re training to try to be the ones that are dominant in the third period, and that’s what happened in overtime.

“There were just so many positives tonight.”

Sun Prairie took the lead for good at 132 pounds when Wyatt Thiel earned a first-period pin, and 138-pounder Tyler Nelson capped the night with a 13-9 decision.

Parker hosts the eight-team Cramer/Brown Invitational on Saturday.


106—Tristan Buol (P) pinned Emily Tess, 1:33. 113—Daniel Smith (P) pinned Jonathon Foster, 0:31. 120—Nicolas Lux (P) sudden victory over Richard Quintana, 14-10. 126—Brett Perkins (P) pinned Wyatt Thiel, 4:49. 132—Wyatt Thiel (SP) pinned Cory Jordan, 0:52. 138—Tyler Nelson (SP) dec. Palmer Goodwick, 13-9. 145: AJ Miller (P) pinned Jack Desens, 3:54.

152—Drew Scharenbrock (SP) pinned Damian Quaerna, 1:32. 160—Bailey Ellefson (JP) pinned David Prell, 3:35. 170—Karson Sutton (SP) pinned Jakob Barlass, 3:33. 182—Jack Haraldson (SP) pinned Bryce Dyer, 1:35. 195—Brendan Shannon (SP) dec. Keaton Romero, 14-7. 220—Mason Smith (SP) pinned Tre Smith, 2:54. 285—Isaac Tess (SP) pinned Elijah Rickman, 0:40.

Match started at 145.

GazetteXtra.com does not condone or review every comment. Read more in our Commenter Policy Agreement

  • Keep it clean. Comments that are obscene, vulgar or sexually oriented will be removed. Creative spelling of such terms or implied use of such language is banned, also.
  • Don't threaten to hurt or kill anyone.
  • Be nice. No racism, sexism or any other sort of -ism that degrades another person.
  • Harassing comments. If you are the subject of a harassing comment or personal attack by another user, do not respond in-kind. Use the "Report comment abuse" link below to report offensive comments.
  • Share what you know. Give us your eyewitness accounts, background, observations and history.
  • Do not libel anyone. Libel is writing something false about someone that damages that person's reputation.
  • Ask questions. What more do you want to know about the story?
  • Stay focused. Keep on the story's topic.
  • Help us get it right. If you spot a factual error or misspelling, email newsroom@gazettextra.com or call 1-800-362-6712.
  • Remember, this is our site. We set the rules, and we reserve the right to remove any comments that we deem inappropriate.

Report comment abuse