There was no letdown for Janesville Craig’s wrestling team Wednesday night.

Coming off a pivotal Big Eight Conference win over Middleton last Friday, Craig crushed Madison Memorial 69-12. The Cougars received forfeits in six of the first seven weight classes and used first-period pins by Ethan Smith, Marshall Getchell, Brady Schenk and Keeanu Benton to finish off the Spartans.

“We had a number of guys pick up their first varsity win,” Craig coach Mark Mullen said. “That’s always good to see.

“And most of the guys that did have to wrestle went out and took care of business right away.”

Mullen had particular praise for Juan Armas, who beat defending conference champion Guillomo Tellez 11-7 at 120 pounds.

Craig competes at the Whitewater Invitational on Saturday


106—Ivan Ayala (C) won by forfeit; 113—Joey Coulter (C) won by forfeit; 120—Juan Armas (C) dec. Guillomo Tellez, 11-7; 126—Dylan Nickols (C) won by forfeit; 132—Joey Bellomo (C) won by forfeit; 138—Nate Ellis (C) won by forfeit; 145—Dennis Nguyen (C) won by forfeit.

152—Ethan Smith (C) pinned Everett Anderson, 1:54; 160-Kayven Reetz (P) pinned Davon Serrano, 2:50; 170-Marshall Getchell (C) pinned Jon Pine, :34; 182—Armani Bates (C) pinned Will Liegle, 4:33; 195—CJ Green (M) pinned Alex Thompson, 1:25; 220—Brady Schenk (C) pinned Jeremy Cusack, :10; 285_Keeanu Benton (C) pinned Patrick McDonald, :25.

  • Beloit 49, Parker 30—The Purple Knights won a pinfest against Janesville Parker on Wednesday night.

Twelve of the 14 weight classes were decided by pins, with Beloit getting seven of them.

Parker took an early 12-6 lead on back-to-back pins by Palmer Goodwick and AJ Miller, but Beloit answered with wins in six of the next seven matches to take control.

Other Parker winners by pin were Tristan Buol, Brett Perkins and Jakob Barlass.

“We had five good pins,” Parker coach Danny Jackson said. “But we also had a couple of pins against us that were unexpected.

“We just have to go back to the drawing board and get better.”

Parker competes at the Edgerton Invitational on Saturday.


106—Tristan Buol (P) pinned Logan Palazzola, 1:12; 113—Bradley Butler (B) pinned Daniel Smith, :44; 120—Daren Taber (B) dec. Nicolas Lux, 7-1; 126—Brett Perkins (P) pinned Marco Oliveras, 2:55; 132—Robert Johnson (B) pinned Cory Jordan, 1:43; 138—Palmer Goodwick (P) pinned Carlos Lopez, 1:08; 145—AJ Miller (P) pinned Dominick Lindley, 4:39.

152—Dakota Kopplin (B) Damian Quaerna, 5:11; 160—Fernando Badillo (B) pinned Bailey Ellefson, 3:15; 170—Jakob Barlass (P) pinned Jorge Jurado, 4:35; 182—Tyler Sireci (B) major dec. over Bryce Heerey, 11-2; 195—Matthew Lindley Jr. (B) pinned Bryce Dyer, :14; 220—Linzell Burks (B) pinned Tre Smith, 2:00; 285—Ryan Caudle (B) pinned Elijah Rickman, 2:25. does not condone or review every comment. Read more in our Commenter Policy Agreement

  • Keep it clean. Comments that are obscene, vulgar or sexually oriented will be removed. Creative spelling of such terms or implied use of such language is banned, also.
  • Don't threaten to hurt or kill anyone.
  • Be nice. No racism, sexism or any other sort of -ism that degrades another person.
  • Harassing comments. If you are the subject of a harassing comment or personal attack by another user, do not respond in-kind. Use the "Report comment abuse" link below to report offensive comments.
  • Share what you know. Give us your eyewitness accounts, background, observations and history.
  • Do not libel anyone. Libel is writing something false about someone that damages that person's reputation.
  • Ask questions. What more do you want to know about the story?
  • Stay focused. Keep on the story's topic.
  • Help us get it right. If you spot a factual error or misspelling, email or call 1-800-362-6712.
  • Remember, this is our site. We set the rules, and we reserve the right to remove any comments that we deem inappropriate.

Report comment abuse