A pair of Brodhead/Juda wrestlers will ride a wave of momentum to the WIAA state tournament this week at the Kohl Center.

Senior Trent Davis (220 pounds) and junior Jackson Hauri (152) won their respective brackets at the Division 2 Richland Center Sectional on Saturday.

The Division 2 and 3 state-tournament brackets begin action Thursday night.

Hauri (31-2) won his sectional title in dramatic fashion, taking down Mauston’s Jarrett Dolata (41-3) in overtime and putting him on his back for two extra points and a 6-2 sudden victory.

Davis (34-8) earned a 6-3 decision over Richland Center’s Alex Peters in his final bout.

Three other area wrestlers also advanced to state out of Richland Center.

Evansville/Albany junior Branden Lange heads back for a second straight year after winning the 285-pound title. And his teammate and step-brother, senior Nolan Kicmol, qualified for state for the fourth time in his career by finishing in third place at 152 pounds.

Edgerton sophomore Cole Bavery took second at 132 pounds and will compete at the Kohl Center for the second straight year.

At the D2 Cedar Grove-Belgium Sectional, two Whitewater wrestlers and one from Delavan-Darien advanced to state.

Whitewater senior Jimmy DuVal improved to 42-2 by winning the sectional title. He beat Catholic Memorials’ Brian Flanagan 9-5 in the title bout. DuVal will be joined at state by sophomore teammate Tyler Gamble, who was third at 106 pounds.

Delavan-Darien senior Miguel Sanson earned a state berth by taking third at 126.

In Division 3, at the Mineral Point Sectional, three of Parkview’s four sectional qualifiers finished in fourth place.

Division 2 Richland Center Sectional

(top three finishers in each weight class advance to state)


106—Cale Anderson (Viroqua) dec. Matt Rogge (Prairie du Chien), 8-1. Third place: Joe Quaglia (Sugar River) pinned William Van Dinter (Wisconsin Dells), 0:50.

113—Josh Frye (Viroqua), dec. Max Schmidt (Richland Center), 10-3. Third place: Colton Sime (Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau/Melrose-Mindoro) pinned Keeghan Kjos (River Valley), 5:57.

120—Isaac Wiegel (Belmont/Platteville) dec. Caleb Radtke (RV), 8-1. Second place: Garrett Moll (Lodi) dec. Radtke, 6-3.

126—Julian Purney (GETMM) by inj. Over Zach Licht (RV). Third place: Gabe Kingsley (WD) pinned Bradyn Saint (PdC), 5:21.

132—Tanner Diest (Wautoma/Wild Rose) dec. Cole Bavery (Edgerton), 6-4. Third place: Colton Nicolay (Lodi) maj. dec. Dalton Schams (West Salem/Bangor), 9-1.

138—Aaron Bahr (WSB) pinned Ryan Knight (Westby), 3:34. Second place: Traeton Saint (PdC) by medical forfeit over Knight.

145—Teagen Miller (Mauston) dec. Ryan Hannah (Vir), 7-2. Second place: Hannah tech. fall Blake Garcia (PdC), 19-2 3:08.

152—Jackson Hauri (Brodhead/Juda) by sudden victory over Jarrett Dolata (Maus), 6-2. Third place: Nolan Kicmol (Evansville/Albany) pinned Jaden Anderson (GETMM), 2:37.

160—Nick Rogge (PdC) dec. Max Barreau (Lodi), 6-1. Third place: John Phelan (Dodgeville) maj. dec. Kaleb Erb (B/J), 15-4.

170—Shane Liegel (RV) maj. dec. Tyler Hannah (Vir), 11-0. Second place: Hannah pinned Dillon Martin (WWR), 3:55.

182—Jacob Heyroth (Lodi) by medical forf. over Dempzy Foley (Monroe), 41-5. Third place: Andrew Henschel (WWR) dec. Emiliano Reyes (Turner), 7-4.

195—Bryce Burns (GETMM) dec. Stephen Ronnfeldt (PdC), 6-0. Third place: Cameron Caldwell (Adams-Friendship) dec. Lucas Hackney (WWR), 8-4.

220—Trent Davis (B/J) dec. Alex Peters (RC), 6-3. Second place: Peters pinned Colten Wall (PdC), 3:49.

285—Branden Lange (EA) dec. Tyson Welsch (Mon), 2-0. Second place: Welsch pinned Josh Marciulionis (GETMM), 1:05.

Division 2 Cedar Grove-Belgium Sectional

(top three finishers in each weight class advance to state)


106—Quintin Gehrmann (Jefferson) pinned Tommy Larson (East Troy), 3:13. Second place: Larson maj. dec. Tyler Gamble, 10-0.

113—Dylan Bublitz (Campbellsport) dec. Adam Bruss (Kewaskum), 6-1. Second place: Andrew Schad (Kiel) dec. Bruss, 7-3.

120—Lucas Schevikhoven (Shoreland Lutheran) pinned Joe Moede (ET), 2:17. Second place: Mason Pomeroy (Kew) dec. Moede, 7-5 (OT).

126—Kaleb Ison (Sheboygan Falls) dec. Cade Heisdorf (Cam), 4-0. Second place: Heisdorf pinned Miguel Sanson (Delavan-Darien), 3:51.

132—Aidan Medora (St. John’s NW Military) tech. fall Ellis Pfleger (Grafton), 22-7. Second place: Pfleger dec. Braden Maertz (Kew), 8-3.

138—Eric Bauer (Kewaskum) maj. dec. Taylor Heltemes (Cam), 11-2. Third place: Dean Neff (Jef) dec. Ben Kalata (Lake Mills), 10-7.

145—Max Ward (Elkhart Lake-Glenbeulah/Howards Grove) dec. Andrew Forsythe (North Fondy/Saint Mary’s Springs), 12-6. Second place: Forsythe dec. Alex Deheck (Kew), 8-4.

152—Tanner Goeman (Kew) dec. Bryce Morgan (CGB), 9-4. Second place: Alex Kleinhans (Kiel) dec. Morgan, 13-8.

160—Chase Coleman (ET) dec. Nick Rapp (Graf), 11-6. Third place: Gaven Lisowe (Chilton/Hilbert) maj. dec. Dalton Fritch, 21-10.

170—Joe Lindsley (Cam) pinned Jake Dessart (ET), 1:59. Second place: Jake Neff (Jef) pinned Dessart, 3:34.

182—Jimmy DuVal (Whi) dec. Brian Flanagan (Cath. Memorial), 9-5. Third place: Matt Koelbl (Cam) maj. dec. Cole Lauersdorf (Lakeside Luth.), 8-0.

195—Marcus Orlandoni (NFDLSMM) dec. Matt Hanke (Lom), 5-4. Second place: Hanke dec. Alec Davis (Graf), 3-2.

220—Chris Storandt (ET) pinned Brett Feind (CGB), 1:32. Third place: Dakota Maas (NFDLSMM) pinned Matthew Schorer (ELGHG), 3:15.

285—Jon Rolle (ELGHR) pinned Scott Klemme (SF), 1:31. Second place: Kelly Paulsen (Saint Lawrence Seminary) dec. Klemme, 10-3.

GazetteXtra.com does not condone or review every comment. Read more in our Commenter Policy Agreement

  • Keep it clean. Comments that are obscene, vulgar or sexually oriented will be removed. Creative spelling of such terms or implied use of such language is banned, also.
  • Don't threaten to hurt or kill anyone.
  • Be nice. No racism, sexism or any other sort of -ism that degrades another person.
  • Harassing comments. If you are the subject of a harassing comment or personal attack by another user, do not respond in-kind. Use the "Report comment abuse" link below to report offensive comments.
  • Share what you know. Give us your eyewitness accounts, background, observations and history.
  • Do not libel anyone. Libel is writing something false about someone that damages that person's reputation.
  • Ask questions. What more do you want to know about the story?
  • Stay focused. Keep on the story's topic.
  • Help us get it right. If you spot a factual error or misspelling, email newsroom@gazettextra.com or call 1-800-362-6712.
  • Remember, this is our site. We set the rules, and we reserve the right to remove any comments that we deem inappropriate.

Report comment abuse