Janesville Parker’s Julia Hartwig continues to dominate the paint in the Big Eight Conference.

The Vikings junior forward ranked second in the league in scoring and first in rebounding to earn first-team all-conference honors for the second straight year.

“Julia has a lot of pressure on her each and every game because each and every opponent we face, keys on her,” Parker coach Jennah Hartwig said. “

“She has handled it well and really hasn’t had any bad games. She’s been very consistent.”

Joining Julia Hartwig on the first team were Madison East senior Erin Howard, Sun Prairie senior Jayda Jansen, East senior Justice Filip and Madison Memorial sophomore Leilani Kapinus.

Howard was named the league’s player of the year, and Kapinus picked up defensive player of the year honors. Madison La Follette’s Will Green was named coach of the year.

Hartwig has averaged more than 17 points and 15 rebounds per game for the Vikings. During this season, she verbally committed to play college basketball at Division I UW-Green Bay.

Seeded 13th in the Division 1 bracket, they have advanced to the sectional semifinals and will play top-seeded Mukwonago tonight.

“Julia had another solid season for us. She had to do the lion’s share of the work on this team for much of the season, but now her teammates have started picking up the slack,” Jennah Hartwig said. “That’s what’s so fun to see as a coach, and why we’re playing at sectionals.”

Janesville Craig got a pair of players onto the postseason award list.

Cougars sophomore Cassie Goswick, who led the Cougars in scoring at 14.3 points per game, was named to the second team.

Junior Emily Pierson, who averaged more than 13 points, was a third-team selection.

Girls basketball


Justice Filip, sr., G., Madison East; Julia Hartwig, jr., F, Janesville Parker; Erin Howard, sr., W, Madison East; Jayda Jansen, sr., G, Sun Prairie; Leilani Kapinus, so., F, Madison Memorial

Player of the year—Howard, East

Defensive player of the year—Kapinus, Memorial

Coach of the year—Will Green, Madison La Follette


Chandler Bainbridge, sr., G, Verona; Kate Carlson, sr., F, Madison West; Kaytlin Eder, jr., G, Madison La Follette; Cassie Goswick, so., Janesville Craig; Grace Hilber, jr., G, Sun Prairie; Aniah Williams, sr., G, Beloit Memorial


Haley Dunn, sr., G, Middleton; Elle Moore, jr., G, Sun Prairie; Emily Pierson, jr., G, Janesville Craig; Nyen Riak, so., F, Madison La Follette


Rayna Briggs, so., G, Verona; Daiysha Brown, so., G, Madison Memorial; Carly Coulthart, sr., G., Sun Prairie; Sitori Tanin, so., Middleton

GazetteXtra.com does not condone or review every comment. Read more in our Commenter Policy Agreement

  • Keep it clean. Comments that are obscene, vulgar or sexually oriented will be removed. Creative spelling of such terms or implied use of such language is banned, also.
  • Don't threaten to hurt or kill anyone.
  • Be nice. No racism, sexism or any other sort of -ism that degrades another person.
  • Harassing comments. If you are the subject of a harassing comment or personal attack by another user, do not respond in-kind. Use the "Report comment abuse" link below to report offensive comments.
  • Share what you know. Give us your eyewitness accounts, background, observations and history.
  • Do not libel anyone. Libel is writing something false about someone that damages that person's reputation.
  • Ask questions. What more do you want to know about the story?
  • Stay focused. Keep on the story's topic.
  • Help us get it right. If you spot a factual error or misspelling, email newsroom@gazettextra.com or call 1-800-362-6712.
  • Remember, this is our site. We set the rules, and we reserve the right to remove any comments that we deem inappropriate.

Report comment abuse