Janesville Parker's Matt Zimmerman putts on the hole No. 1 during the second round of the WIAA state golf tournament Tuesday, June 5, 2018, at University Ridge Golf Course.

Matt Zimmerman started the high school golf season on a high note.

The Janesville Parker senior shot rounds of 68, 70 and 67 his first three times out.

On Wednesday, the season ended on a high note, as Zimmerman was named the Big Eight Conference’s player of the year.

He is joined on the first team by Verona’s Austin Gaby and Garhett Kaegi, along with Middleton’s Kip Sullivan and Andy Zucker.

Parker coach Sam Van Galder said Zimmerman set the tone early for his stellar season that concluded with the team finishing 10th in Division 1 at the WIAA state meet at University Ridge.

“It was hard for anyone to catch him,” Van Galder said of Zimmerman’s player of the year honor. “He had such an amazing start. It has to be one of the best starts to a season ever in Wisconsin.

“And I think the early success also sort of haunted him. He struggled with his game the middle part of the season trying to recapture the early-season success, but he never quit trying. He continued to be the last kid at practice every night, working as hard as he could.”

Zimmerman’s round of 67 earlier this season is the second-best in school history behind Jeff Riley’s round of 66 in 1980.

Zimmerman also won his first tournament of the season and helped Parker shoot a school-record 294 in winning the Tri-City Invitational title at Glen Erin.

“On top of his golf game, he’s just a great kid,” Van Galder said. “”Polite, kind, funny and has a 3.9 GPA.

“It’s a pretty cool list to be a part of with the great golfers that have come through the Big Eight. and he definitely deserves it.”

Zimmerman will play next year at Viterbo University in La Crosse.

Parker senior Nik Sitter and Janesivlle Craig junior Connor Kelly were honorable mention.

All-Big Eight

First Team

Austin Gaby, jr., Verona; Garhett Kaegi, sr., Verona; Kip Sullivan, soph., Middleton; Matt Zimmerman, sr., Parker Andy Zucker, sr., Middleton.

Second Team

Jacob Beckman, fr., Middleton; Joe Cayer, sr., La Follette; Carson Frisch, soph., Middleton; Ethan Karrick, jr., Sun Prairie; Tommy Kriewaldt, soph., Middleton.


Nik Sitter, sr., Parker; Connor Kelly, jr., Craig Mickey Keating, soph., Sun Prairie; Riley Jensen, sr., Beloit; Cale Rufenacht, soph., Verona; Matthew Sorenson, jr., Memorial; Garret May, soph., La Follette.


Recommended for you