UW-Whitewater senior quarterback Max Meylor

UW-Whitewater senior quarterback Max Meylor has been named a finalist for the Gagliardi Award, given each year to NCAA Division III’s top football player.


UW-Whitewater quarterback Max Meylor has been named one of 15 semifinalists for the 2021 Gagliardi Trophy, an award presented to the year’s most outstanding football player in NCAA Division III.

A total of 40 ballots will be cast for the Gagliardi Trophy, with an additional 41st to be determined by a fan vote. Fans can vote on one ballot per device through noon Dec. 9.

Meylor, a senior from Mount Horeb, has started for the Warhawks for two seasons after transferring from Division II Lindenwood University in St. Charles, Missouri.

He has been a part of two Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference titles (2019 and 2021) and two NCAA Division III playoff teams, including the national runners-up of 2019. This year’s unbeaten team plays a second-round playoff game at noon Saturday against DePauw (Indiana) at Perkins Stadium.

Meylor enters Saturday’s game with 2,512 passing yards, 32 touchdowns and two interceptions in 11 games this season. He ranks among the top 20 in Division III in passing efficiency (185.7), completion percentage (70.5), passing touchdowns and yards per pass attempt (9.14).

Last week, Meylor was named WIAC Offensive Player of the Year and first-team all-conference. He was a WIAC Offensive Player of the Week during the regular season following his 229-yard, four-touchdown performance in a Sept. 11 win at Salisbury (Maryland).

In 2019, Meylor earned team Newcomer of the Year accolades after totaling 1,171 passing yards and 11 touchdowns—to go with 280 yards rushing and four TDs.

For his Whitewater career, Meylor has thrown for 3,583 yards with a 65.6% completion mark, tied for third in the program record book; and 43 touchdowns, No. 8 in school history.

Off the field, Meylor—an occupational safety major—has been highly engaged in the Whitewater community and in his hometown.

The Gagliardi Trophy recognizes excellence in athletics, academics and community service. The award is named after John Gagliardi, the Hall of Fame coach at St. John’s University in Minnesota. Gagliardi retired in 2012 with 489 career victories, the most in college football history.

Four finalists will be announced Dec. 9 during a live broadcast on D3football.com. The winner will be announced during the week of the Stagg Bowl, set for Dec. 17.


Recommended for you