Ballot to bring contested races

Print Print
Gina Duwe
Thursday, January 6, 2011

It's been awhile since I can remember a contested race at the city council level. Here's the rundown of who filed this week to run for local elections in April:

City council: Five council seats are up for election, one in each of the four districts and a second one-year term in District 2.

District 1 incumbent Barbara Jacobson, 55 S. Sixth St., faces Tom Cothard, 217 N. Sixth St. District 2 incumbent Jim Brooks, 563 S. Sixth St., is unopposed while newcomer Cheryl Fuchs, 409 S. First St., has filed to run for the one-year term in District 2. District 3 incumbent Diane Roberts is not seeking re-election, and newcomer Floyd Hayes, 640 Windsor Lane, has filed to run in District 3. District 4 incumbent Dennis Wessels, 257 Franklin St., is seeking re-election.

School board: Three seats are up for election. Incumbents Dennis Hatfield, 14202 W. Golf Air Drive, and Kathi Swanson, 4322 N. Cornfield Drive, are seeking re-election. Newcomers David Ammerman, 332 W. Liberty St., and John Rasmussen, 576 Garfield Ave., also have filed to run.

Incumbent Michael Pierick stated publicly that he would not seek re-election, but did not file non-candidacy papers, which now extends the filing deadline to 5 p.m. Friday.

Last updated: 10:10 am Wednesday, August 28, 2013

Print Print