Keeanu Benton continues to pile up the wins, even when the circumstances aren’t ideal.

The Janesville Craig junior wrestler improved to 32-1 on the season by winning the 285-pound weight class at the Terry Kramer Open on Saturday in Fort Atkinson.

Slinger won the team title with 364.5 points, while Evansville/Albany was sixth at 259.5. Craig finished 11th with 215.5.

Benton pinned Evansville/Albany’s Branden Lange in the title match.

Craig sophomore Mayson Maclennan finished third at 113, and teammates Nate Ellis and Mitchell Schumann were third at 132 and 182, respectively.

Craig coach Mark Mullen said he was impressed with the 10 wrestlers he took to Fort Atkinson. The Cougars suffered a tough loss to Sun Prairie on Friday night for the Big Eight Conference regular-season title.

“The kids came back well off of a pretty tough night,” Mullen said. “They had to get up and wrestle some pretty tough teams. I was pleased with the effort.”

Top-ranked Drew Scharenbrock of Sun Prairie held off Evansville/Albany’s Nolan Kicmol 7-5 in the title match at 145. The Blue Devils’ Tyler Aasen was third at 170.

Terry Kramer Open

At Fort Atkinson


Slinger 364.5, Sauk Prairie 363, Waterfort 335, Kewaskum 290, Pewaukee 271.5, Evansville/Albany 259.5, Sun Prairie 239.5, East Troy 232, Lodi 230.5, Lomira 220, Janesville Craig 215.5, Fort Atkinson 212.5, Kenosha Tremper 197.5, Plymouth 135, Beloit Turner 90, St. John’s NW Military 60


106—Tommy Larson (ET) tech. fall Carter Ziebell (Sli), 19-4

113—Zeke Smith (Sauk) pinned Michael Parker (Sli), 1:30. Third: Mayson Maclennan (JC) dec. Jared Miller (EA), 9-8.

120—Dylan Herbrand (Sauk) dec. Sam Winski (Wat), 3-1.

126—Mason French (KT) pinned Alex Gundrum (Lom), 3:26.

132—Eric Halverson (Pew) dec. Tyler Nelson (SunP), 10-6. Third: Nate Ellis (JC) dec. Draven Sigmund (FA), 1-0.

138—Aidan Medora (SJ) maj. dec. Eric Bauer (Kew), 16-3.

145—Drew Scharenbrock (SunP) dec. Nolan Kicmol (EA), 7-5.

152—Alex Guardiola (Wat) dec. Bryant Schaaf (Sauk), 7-0. Third: Tanner Goeman (Kew) maj. dec. Ben Barmore (EA), 14-5.

160—Frank Garcia (KT) dec. Chase Coleman (ET), 9-4

170—Jacob Sklenar (Pew) dec. Max Barreau (Lod), 12-5. Third: Tyler Aasen (EA) dec. Jake Dessart (ET) , 5-3.

182—Jared Krattiger (Wat) dec. Jacob Heyroth (Lod), 11-7. Third—Mitchell Schumann (JC) by DQ over Kyle Schwibinger (Ply).

195—Jack Trautman III (Wat) pinned Matt Hanke (Lom), 1:56.

220—Chris Storandt (ET) maj. dec. Bennett Connolly (Sli), 12-4.

285—Keeanu Benton (JC) pinned Branden Lange (EA), 3:42.

Parker takes 15th in Whitnall—The Janesville Parker wrestling team went 1-4 in dual meets at the Zelinski Memorial Duals at Whitnall on Saturday to finish 15th out of 16 teams.

Senior Brett Perkins went 5-0 on the day at 126 pounds, including posting three pins and one technical fall.

Stoughton won the tournament, beating New Prague 44-28 in the title bout.

Parker beat South Milwaukee 36-30 but lost to Stoughton, West Allis Central, Merrill and Franklin. does not condone or review every comment. Read more in our Commenter Policy Agreement

  • Keep it clean. Comments that are obscene, vulgar or sexually oriented will be removed. Creative spelling of such terms or implied use of such language is banned, also.
  • Don't threaten to hurt or kill anyone.
  • Be nice. No racism, sexism or any other sort of -ism that degrades another person.
  • Harassing comments. If you are the subject of a harassing comment or personal attack by another user, do not respond in-kind. Use the "Report comment abuse" link below to report offensive comments.
  • Share what you know. Give us your eyewitness accounts, background, observations and history.
  • Do not libel anyone. Libel is writing something false about someone that damages that person's reputation.
  • Ask questions. What more do you want to know about the story?
  • Stay focused. Keep on the story's topic.
  • Help us get it right. If you spot a factual error or misspelling, email or call 1-800-362-6712.
  • Remember, this is our site. We set the rules, and we reserve the right to remove any comments that we deem inappropriate.

Report comment abuse