The annual crosstown wrestling clash between Janesville Craig and Janesville Parker takes on special meaning this season.

Friday night’s Big Eight Conference dual meet in the Craig gym marks the 50th year that the two city schools have met on the squared circle.

The winner of the dual meet retains the Kaster-Cramer Cup, which was first awarded in 2012 in honor of longtime Craig coach Joe Kaster and longtime Parker coach Ron Cramer. Kaster and Cramer are expected to be in attendance Friday, along with several other former coaches and wrestlers that have helped make the rivalry one of the best around in any sport the past five decades.

Craig is looking for its 10th straight win in the series, which would break the all-time mark of nine straight.

The Cougars are unbeaten in the Big Eight’s West Division and will be heavily favored against the Vikings.

Three wrestlers competing Friday are state-ranked, while two others are honorable mention.

Craig junior Keeanu Benton is ranked third at 285 pounds, while teammate and sophomore Mayson Maclennan is 12th at 113.

Parker senior Brett Perkins is ninth at 126.

Craig seniors Nate Ellis at 132 and Ethan Smith at 145 are both honorable mention.

Friday’s meet is expected to begin at 7 p.m.

Craig vs. Parker


1967-68: Parker wins 28-12 and 24-22

1968-69: Craig wins 21-19 and 35-9

1969-70: Parker wins 27-15

1970-71: Parker wins 26-19; Craig wins 25-19

1971-72: Parker wins 33-15

1972-73: Parker wins 42-8

1973-74: Parker wins 27-21

1974-75: Craig wins 22-21

1975-76: Parker wins 28-16

1976-77: Parker wins 29-21

1977-78: Parker wins 37-20

1978-79: Parker wins 34-13

1979-80: Parker wins 27-26

1980-81: Parker wins 41-14

1981-82: Parker wins 50-6

1982-83: Parker wins 44-14

1983-84: Parker wins 35-11

1984-85: Parker wins 31-19

1985-86: Parker wins 36-16

1986-87: Parker wins 46-12

1987-88: Parker wins 42-8

1988-89: Parker wins 44-18

1989-90: Parker wins 40-17

1990-91: Parker wins 52-8

1991-92: Parker wins 51-7

1992-93: Parker wins 38-20

1993-94: Parker wins 34-22

1994-95: Craig wins 30-26

1995-96: Parker wins 33-30

1996-97: Parker wins 43-21

1997-98: Craig wins 31-21

1998-99: Craig wins 33-30

1999-2000: Craig wins 30-21

2000-01: Craig wins 27-19

2001-02: Craig wins 40-13

2002-03: Craig wins 39-28

2003-04: Craig wins 46-16

2004-05: Craig wins 31-28

2005-06: Craig wins 42-27

2006-07: Parker wins 29-13

2007-08: Parker wins 30-13

2008-09: Craig wins 40-31

2009-10: Parker wins 39-36

2010-11: Craig wins 43-33

2011-12: Craig wins 43-31

2012-13: Craig wins 60-21

2013-14: Craig wins 60-15 and 61-14

2014-15: Craig wins 52-19

2015-16: Craig wins 49-24

2016-17: Craig wins 63-17 and 64-12 does not condone or review every comment. Read more in our Commenter Policy Agreement

  • Keep it clean. Comments that are obscene, vulgar or sexually oriented will be removed. Creative spelling of such terms or implied use of such language is banned, also.
  • Don't threaten to hurt or kill anyone.
  • Be nice. No racism, sexism or any other sort of -ism that degrades another person.
  • Harassing comments. If you are the subject of a harassing comment or personal attack by another user, do not respond in-kind. Use the "Report comment abuse" link below to report offensive comments.
  • Share what you know. Give us your eyewitness accounts, background, observations and history.
  • Do not libel anyone. Libel is writing something false about someone that damages that person's reputation.
  • Ask questions. What more do you want to know about the story?
  • Stay focused. Keep on the story's topic.
  • Help us get it right. If you spot a factual error or misspelling, email or call 1-800-362-6712.
  • Remember, this is our site. We set the rules, and we reserve the right to remove any comments that we deem inappropriate.

Report comment abuse