Branden Lange made sure the Rock Valley Conference wrestling trophy remained in Evansville.

The Albany High junior won by pin in the title match at 285 pounds Saturday to help Evansville/Albany win the conference tournament title.

Evansville/Albany finished with 238.5 points, while East Troy was second with 231.5.

The Blue Devils also got individual titles from Austin Scofield (132), Ben Barmore (145) and Nolan Kicmol (152).

Whitewater, which finished third, got back-to-back titles from Jimmy DuVal and Tyler Sheffield at 182 and 195 pounds, respectively.

Edgerton’s Cole Bavery rolled to the title at 132.


At Jefferson


Evansville/Albany 238.5, East Troy 231.5, Whitewater 171, Edgerton 164, Jefferson 147, Brodhead/Juda 110.5, Beloit Turner 100, Clinton 47, Big Foot/Williams Bay 17

Title and third-place matches

106—Title: Tommy Larson (ET) dec. Tyler Gamble (Wh) 11-5; Third: Ryan Hazzard (Edg) dec. Gavin Frey (EA) 9-4

113—Title: Quintin Gehrmann (Jef) dec. Jared Miller (EA) 12-7; Third: AJ Hall (ET) dec. Trenten Zahn (Wh) 9-8

120—Title: Joe Moede (ET) pinned Cody Gamble (Wh) 2:57; Third: Weston Wright (J) pinned Evan Senter (EA) 1:34

126—Title: Austin Scofield (EA) dec, Jack Sagaitis (BT) 3-2; Third: Daniel Clark (Edg) dec. Calvin Collins (ET) 6-4

132—Cole Bavery (Edg) pinned Adam Staver (EA) 1:00; Third: Gavin Campbell (BT) dec. Logan Nguyen (Jef) 12-9

138—Title: Dean Neff (Jef) dec. Carter Klein (Edg) 5-1; Third: Colin Warpula (Cl) dec. Matt Kostroun (EA) 8-5

145—Ben Barmore (EA) major dec. over John Veselka (ET) 11-3; Third: Brian McCullough (BJ) major dec. over Tommy Cushman (Wh) 15-6

152—Title: Nolan Kicmol (EA) pinned Jackson Hauri (BJ) 5:36; Third: Trevor Wilkinson (Edg) dec. Jose Rios (Jef) 4-0

160—Title: Chase Coleman (ET) pinned Kaleb Erb (BJ) 1:31; Third: Jake Neff (Jef) pinned Garrett Ison (Edg) 3:47

170—Title: Jake Dessart (ET) dec. Tyler Aasen 3-1 (SV); Third: Aldo Soto (Wh) dec. Aaron Heine (Jef) 10-8

182—Jimmy DuVal (Wh) dec. Emiliano Reyes (BT) 7-2; Third: Hunter Overland (EA) pinned Sam Tuttle (ET) :59

195—Title: Tyler Sheffield (Wh) dec. Jacob Price (ET) 11-5; Third: Collin Roberts (EA) dec. Phyllip Brown (BT) 9-7

220—Title: Chris Storandt (ET) dec. Trent Davis (BJ) 7-1; Third: Reed Farrington (Edg) dec. Jacob Merimon (Cl) 12-10

285—Title: Branden Lange (EA) pinned Jacob Mast (ET) 2:49; Third: Arturo Franco (Wh) dec. Dante Colorado (BT) 7-6

Demons win the Lakes title—State-ranked Burlington held off Waterford to win the Southern Lakes Conference wrestling tournament Saturday.

Burlington finished with 236 points, while Waterford was second with 211.5. Elkhorn finished third and Lake Geneva Badger fourth.

Beau LaDu (106) and Jake Stritesky (113) won individual titles for Badger.

The Elks had three champions in Grant Truesdale at 126 pounds, Daniel Stilling at 132 and Hunter Hummel at 285.



Burlington 236, Waterford 211.5, Elkhorn 187.5, Lake Geneva Badger 165.5, Wilmot 118, Union Grove 103, Westosha Central 65, Delavan-Darien 59


106—Title Beau LaDu (LGB) dec. Cade Willis (UG) 2-1; Third: Payton Jacobson (Elk) dec. Jaden Bird (Bur) 2-1 (OT)

113—Title: Jake Stritesky (LGB) dec. Hayden Halter (Bur) 7-2; Third: Benson DuChemin (Wil) dec. Jacob Greidanus (DD) 9-2

120—Title: Joey Graham (Wil) dec. Cody Welker (Bur) 6-1; Third: Will French (Wat) dec. Teddy Woyak (Elk) 8-4

126—Title: Grant Truesdale (Elk) dec. Miguel Sanson (DD) 8-2; Third: Ben Stevenson (Bur) dec. Sam Winski (Wat) 7-1

132—Title: Daniel Stilling (Elk) major dec. over Steven Kraus (LGB) 15-4; Third: Zach Weiler (Bur) pinned Drew Hebior (Wil) 2:50

138—Title: Max Ehlen (Bur) dec. Coleman Karl (Elk) 6-2; Third: Brandon Martinez (LGB) major dec. over Jefferson Kearby (WC) 10-0

145—Title: Jake Skrundz (Bur) pinned Anthony Christenson (Wat) 4:26; Third: Michael Sanders (LGB) pinned Dennis Grubb (WC) 4:06

152—Title: Alex Guardiola (Wat) major dec. over Ben Kumprey (Bur) 9-0; Third: Giovany Gonzalez (DD) dec. Logan Pye (Wil) 10-4

160—Title: Qwade Gehring (Bur) pinned Aaron Taylor (Elk) 1:07; Third: Zack Kaminski (Wat) major dec. over Larz Gough (Wil) 11-2

170—Title: Hunter Valach (Wil) major dec. over Alex Rewolinski (UG) 16-7; Third: Myles Schumaker (Elk) dec. Zach Wallace (Bur) 6-5

182—Title: Jared Krattiger (Wat) tech. fall over Nate Crayton (Bur) 23-8; Third: Zach Bell (WC) pinned Dalton Creighton (LGB) 2:42

195—Title: Tony Mastrocola (Wat) pinned Keith Storm (UG) 2:34; Third: Reid McNeill (WC) pinned Patrick Keplar (LGB) 4:34

220—Title: Jack Trautman III (Wat) dec. Max Travis (Bur) 10-5; Third: Barron Masi (UG) pinned Dakota Biefeld (Elk) 2:39

285—Title: Hunter Hummel (Elk) pinned Boyd Biggs (Wat) :21; Third: Kyle Freund (LGB) pinned Wyatt Hayes (Bur) 4:42

Stoughton cruises to Badger title—Stoughton, ranked No. 3 in the state in Division 1, had no problem picking up the Badger Conference title at Waunakee.

The Vikings scored 348 points, and Waunakee was second with 265. Milton took ninth with 114.

The Red Hawks’ best finish came from senior Jerry Lipke, who was second at 195 pounds. Lipke lost a tough 3-2 decision in the finals. Mason Dutcher was third at 113.


At Waunakee


Stoughton 348, Waunakee 265, Sauk Prairie 251, Baraboo 177.5, Fort Atkinson 176.5, Reedsburg 136, Monroe 133, Watertown 122.5, Milton 114, Beaver Dam 113.5, Mount Horeb 99.5, DeForest 84.5, Monona Grove/McFarland 77, Portage 66, Oregon 47


106—Sam Lorenz (Wau) tech. fall Dawson Enge (SP), 18-2 3:52.

113—Zeke Smith (SP) pinned Dietrich Jaeckel (BD), 1:57. Third: Mason Dutcher (Mil) dec. Nick Schweitzer (Wau), 5-0.

120—Hunter Lewis (Sto) maj. dec. Dylan Herbrand (SP), 9-0.

126—Mason McMillen (Reed) dec. Braeden Whitehead (Sto), 5-1.

132—Draven Sigmund (FA) dec. John Gunderson (Bar), 3-0. Third: Caden Fry (Reed) dec. Tyler Kersten (Mil), 7-5.

138—Gavin Model (Sto) dec. Pablo Ramirez (Bar), 7-5.

145—Nico Roscioli (FA) dec. Zachary Gunderson (MGM), 4-2.

152—Austin Rauls (DeF) dec. Cade Spile (Sto), 6-4.

160—Tyler Dow (Sto) pinned Ben Statz (Wau), 3:23.

170—Sam Kind (Mon) dec. Ky Kalscheur (MH), 5-1.

182—Dempzy Foley (Mon) dec. Aiden Estes (Bar), 12-8.

195—Stephen Maule (Wat), dec. Jerry Lipke (Mil), 3-2.

220—Max Olinger (MH) pinned Reed Ryan (Wau), 1:14.

285—Alan Olkowski (Wau), beat Aodan Marshall (Sto) in an ultimate tiebreaker. does not condone or review every comment. Read more in our Commenter Policy Agreement

  • Keep it clean. Comments that are obscene, vulgar or sexually oriented will be removed. Creative spelling of such terms or implied use of such language is banned, also.
  • Don't threaten to hurt or kill anyone.
  • Be nice. No racism, sexism or any other sort of -ism that degrades another person.
  • Harassing comments. If you are the subject of a harassing comment or personal attack by another user, do not respond in-kind. Use the "Report comment abuse" link below to report offensive comments.
  • Share what you know. Give us your eyewitness accounts, background, observations and history.
  • Do not libel anyone. Libel is writing something false about someone that damages that person's reputation.
  • Ask questions. What more do you want to know about the story?
  • Stay focused. Keep on the story's topic.
  • Help us get it right. If you spot a factual error or misspelling, email or call 1-800-362-6712.
  • Remember, this is our site. We set the rules, and we reserve the right to remove any comments that we deem inappropriate.

Report comment abuse