Madison West’s boys swim team kicked off the postseason with a Big Eight Conference title Saturday.

The Regents score 597 points during a record-setting day, beating Madison Memorial, which finished with 542.5 at Beloit Memorial. Janesville Parker was seventh with 39 points, while Craig was ninth with 23.

Three new conference records were set. West’s 200 medley relay team finished in 1:34.02, beating a record it set last year by nearly three seconds.

West senior Lain Weaver, who was part of that relay team, set the new mark in the 100 freestyle, finishing in 46.22 seconds. The previous record was 46.77.

And Weaver and West closed the meet with one more record in the 400 free relay. Their time of 3:10.27 was nearly three-tenths better than Madison Memorial’s 2013 time.

Craig freshman Kiel Wolff posted the city’s top finish, swimming the 500 freestyle in 5:09.50 to take 12th.

“I believe he can drop even more time at next week’s meet,” Craig coach Jonathan Hopkins said of Wolff’s personal-record time. “It was an important test for us to see how we are doing halfway through our taper going into next week’s sectional meet.”

Parker had an 11th-place finish in the 400 free relay, and Garrett Leach was 14th in the 100 backstroke.


At Beloit


Madison West 597, Madison Memorial 542.5, Middleton 514.5, Verona-Mount Horeb 208, Sun Prairie 182, Beloit Memorial 123, Janesville Parker 39, Madison East 36, Janesville Craig 23


200 medley relay—West 1:34.02; 13. Parker 1:50.08

200 freestyle—Michael Draves (Mid) 1:45.03; 26. Michael Easton (JP) 2:02.27

200 individual medley—Lain Weaver (MW) 1:56.83; 20. Cameron Odegaard (JP) 2:13.58

50 freestyle—Shane Rozeboom (Ver) 21.84; 18. Ethan Griffith (JP) 24.23

100 butterfly—Alex Wowk (MM) 51.37; 21. Garrett Leach (JP) 59.55

100 freestyle—Weaver 46.22; 20. Griffth 53.96

500 freestyle—Draves 4:50.21; 12. Kiel Wolff (JC) 5:09.50

200 free relay—Madison Memorial 1:27.46; 12. Craig 1:40.88

100 backstroke—Wes Jekel (MW) 50.96; 14. Leach 59.78

100 breaststroke—Henry Miller (MW) 58.50; 18. Callaghan Bradley (JC) 1:06.20

400 free relay—Madison West 3:10.27; 11. Parker 3:34.48

Elkhorn captures Southern Lakes crown—Elkhorn Area High lapped the field at the Southern Lakes Conference boys swim championships.

The Elks won eight of 11 events to finish with 527 points. Lake Geneva Badger was second with 465 and Burlington third.

Hunter Johnson, Willy Pinnow, Lucas Koepke, Logan Radlein and Brevin Kruse won individual events for Elkhorn. The Elks also won two of the three relay events.

Whitewater’s Young Liang was the only double-winner, as he captured the 200 individual medley and the 100 breaststroke.



Elkhorn 527, Lake Geneva Badger 465, Burlington 358, Platteville-Lancaster 247, Delavan-Darien 199, Whitewater 170, Jefferson-Cambridge 110


200 medley relay—Burlington 1:45.31; Elkhorn 1:46.95; Platteville-Lancaster 1:48.69

200 freestyle—Hunter Johnson (Elk) 1:50.56; Emmett Matthews (LGB) 1:50.88; Willy Pinnow (Elk) 1:54.28

200 individual medley—Young Liang (Wh) 2:03.38; Bailey Bleser (Bur) 2:08.39; Luca Lopez (DD) 2:10.4

50 freestyle—Lucas Koepke (Elk) 23.04; Alex Tenhagen (LGB) 23.18; Jack Mayer (Wh) 23.69

100 butterfly—Logan Radlein (Elk) 57.29; Jimmy Keeker (Bur) 58.55; Tyler Moss (PL) 59.21

100 freestyle—Hunter Johnson (Elk) 50.63; Emmett Matthews LGB) 51/07; Lucas Koepke (Elk) 51.08

500 freestyle—Willy Pinnow (Elk) 4:57.74; Michael Kuhl (Wh) 5:29.79; Steven Haworth (LGB) 5:32.77

200 freestyle relay—Elkhorn (Johnson, Gauger, Pinnow, Koepke) 1:32.69; Badger 1:32.81; Burlington 1:35.53

100 backstroke—Brevin Kruse (Elk) 58.71; Derek Gauger (Elk) 59.44; Danny Bush (Elk) 1:00.84

100 breaststroke—Young Liang (Wh) 1:03.49; Andrew Logterman (DD) 1:04.63; Ethan Brannen (Bur) 1:07.48

400 freestyle relay—Elkhorn (Koepke, Radlein, Pinnow, Johnson) 3:25.7; Badger 3:31.55; Badger B 3:43.51

Silver Eagles claim Badger South title—Monona Grove dominated the Badger South Conference swim meet Saturday.

The Silver Eagles finished with 491 points, with Stoughton a distant second with 320. Milton was fifth.

The Red Hawks’ top finish came in the 200 freestyle relay, where the team of Cole Gransee, Cole Witt, Cameron Krause and Eric Fons finished second to Monona Grove. Fons was fourth in the 100 freestyle and the 100 backstroke.



Monona Grove 491, Stoughton 320, Edgewood 307, Watertown 282, Milton 249, Fort Atkinson 249, Oregon 234


200 medley relay—Monona Grove 1:40.08

200 freestyle—Ben McDade (MG) 1:42.02

200 individual medley—Truman teDuits (E) 1:58.41; 5. Cole Witt (Mil) 2:23.37

50 freestyle—Shane Sackett (MG) 22.4

100 butterfly—Eric Storms (MG) 53.57

100 freestyle—Jacob Lippiat (MG) 49.034. 4. Eric Fons (Mil) 51.04

500 freestyle—Ben McDade (MG) 4:34.6

200 freestyle relay—Monona Grove 1:29.53 2. Milton (Cole Gransee, Cole Witt, Cameron Krause, Eric Fons) 1:35.74

100 backstroke—Alex Moen (E) 53.83; 4. Fons (Mil) 1:00.23

100 breaststroke—tuDuits (E) 1:00.75; 4. Cameron Krause (Mil) 1:07.89

400 freestyle relay—Monona Grove 3:13.59 does not condone or review every comment. Read more in our Commenter Policy Agreement

  • Keep it clean. Comments that are obscene, vulgar or sexually oriented will be removed. Creative spelling of such terms or implied use of such language is banned, also.
  • Don't threaten to hurt or kill anyone.
  • Be nice. No racism, sexism or any other sort of -ism that degrades another person.
  • Harassing comments. If you are the subject of a harassing comment or personal attack by another user, do not respond in-kind. Use the "Report comment abuse" link below to report offensive comments.
  • Share what you know. Give us your eyewitness accounts, background, observations and history.
  • Do not libel anyone. Libel is writing something false about someone that damages that person's reputation.
  • Ask questions. What more do you want to know about the story?
  • Stay focused. Keep on the story's topic.
  • Help us get it right. If you spot a factual error or misspelling, email or call 1-800-362-6712.
  • Remember, this is our site. We set the rules, and we reserve the right to remove any comments that we deem inappropriate.

Report comment abuse