UW-Whitewater's Fon, Herum top of list

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Thursday, May 17, 2012

UW-Whitewater’s Jared Fon and Marty Herum were two of the three players named as top position players in the All-Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference baseball team.

Fon and Herum are the second and third WIAC position players of the year in Warhawk baseball history, joining 1998 honoree Pat Tobiasz. UW-W has had six players earn conference pitcher of the year honors.

Four other Warhawks earned first-team honors.

Jay Fanta of UW-La Crosse also shared the Top Position Player honor with Fon and Herum.

UW-Stevens Point’s Cam Seidl was named the Pitcher of the Year.

Chris Schwarz of UW-La Crosse earned Coach of the Year honors.

Fon was second in the conference with 69 hits, 44 runs scored and 105 total bases, third with a .397 batting average and a .457 on-base percentage, fourth with 39 RBIs, fifth with six home runs, and sixth with a .603 slugging percentage and 14 doubles.

Herum led the WIAC with 73 hits, 57 runs batted in and 110 total bases, while ranking second with a .412 batting average and 16 doubles, fourth with a .621 slugging percentage, sixth with five home runs and 10th with 36 runs scored.

Warhawks Dylan Friend, Ryan Leavitt and pitchers Eric Schmitz and Kyle Stewart also earned first-team honors.

Friend topped the individual WIAC stats in runs scored with 48 and triples with six. The sophomore outfielder has started all 45 games for the Warhawks and ranks among the top five on the team in batting average at .327, runs with 48, hits with 55, doubles with 14, runs batted in with 40 and a .554 slugging percentage.

Leavitt rounds out the position player honorees as the All-WIAC designated hitter.

Leavitt batted .292 with two home runs and 27 RBIs. The senior was been part of the 2009 and 2010 WIAC championship teams and will have participated in the NCAA Division III tournament each season of his career.

Schmitz led the team with a 2.72 ERA and eight wins in eighteen appearances to go with just two losses. The righty struck out 49 and walked 12.

Senior Kyle Stewart (Onalaska/Onalaska) posted a 3.59 ERA for Whitewater with a 7-2 record in 13 appearances. The righthander recorded 68 strikeouts in 62.2 innings pitched.

Steve Bartlein capped the Warhawk honorees as Whitewater’s representative on the all-sportsmanship team. The junior infielder hit .304 in 31 games played.

Fanta led the league with a .420 batting average and .492 on-base percentage, while ranking third with 66 hits and 97 total bases, fifth with a .618 slugging percentage and 22 walks, sixth with 39 runs scored, 14 doubles and five home runs and ninth with 35 runs batted in.

Schwarz was selected the Coach of the Year after directing the Eagles to a 33-9 overall record and the program’s first WIAC regular-season championship since 2000.

The Eagles also won their first WIAC tournament crown since 2000 and earned a bid into the NCAA Division III Championship. Schwarz also received the coaching honor in 2006.

Last updated: 8:20 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print