UW-Whitewater men win track meet

Print Print
Gazette staff
Monday, March 26, 2012
— The UW-Whitewater men’s track and field team set two records Saturday to win the 10-team Augustana Spring Opener.

Marcus Smith’s 49-11.75 triple jump, and the Warhawk 400 relay team’s 41.27 established a meet records.

Whitewater posted 251.5 points and Augustana marked 233 for second place. Beloit College earned 18 points and finished ninth.

Whitewater’s 400 meter runners swept the first seven places. Tim Prelletz led with a 48.69 clocking, Matt Santas finished second (49.07) and Jared Denu was third (49.44).

The 1,500 meter runners placed 2-3-5, with Mathias Werve second in 3:57.43, Dawson Miller third in 4:02.70, and Joe Dixson fifth in 4:03.85. Cory Zaeski (22-4.5), Dave Kuczynski (22-3.5) and Cody Cassidy (21-10.75) picked up second, third and fourth place points in the long jump. And Zaeske (6-5) added second place points in the high jump, with teammates Beau Hering and Tom Fisher tied for fourth at 6-1.25.

Whitewater Dylan Crafton won the 200 in 21.98. Teammate Kevin Gorman won the javelin (169-4), Ben Watson win the shot put (50-8.25) and Kevin Buntman won the 3000 steeplechase (9:49.6).

Whitewater women second

Lexie Sondgeroth won the triple jump (35-9.25) and long jump (17-4) Saturday to lead the UW-Whitewater women’s track and field team to second place in the eight-team Augustana Spring Opener in Rock Island, Ill.

The Warhawks’ Peaton Wantuch won the 3000 steeplechase in 12:06.70, Amanda Brom won the 400 in 58.88, Lauren Strohmaier won the high jump (5-3.75), and the Warhawk 400 won in 48.91.

Augustana College topped Whitewater, 200.5-167.5 for the meet title.

Last updated: 7:52 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print