Langley, Plomb top All-Rock boys honorees

Print Print
Gazette staff
Tuesday, March 20, 2012

Justin Langley of Clinton and Tanner Plomb of East Troy were named the players of the year in South and North Rock Valley Conference boys basketball, respectively.

Meanwhile, Carly Mohns, a Brodhead sophomore, and Breanna Gaspervich, an East Troy junior, earned player of the year honors for the Rock Valley South and North girls basketball, respectively.

Langley, a 6-foot-7 senior, averaged 16 points in leading Clinton to a 23-2 season. The Cougars posted a 15-1 record for the Rock Valley South championship. Clinton lost, 71-56, to East Troy in a WIAA sectional tournament semifinal.

Cody Risseeuw, a 6-5 Clinton junior, and teammate Chandler Stevenson, a 6-1 senior, join Langley on the South first team. Risseeuw averaged 13.5 points, and Stevenson averaged 9.4 points.

East Troy’s Plomb, a 6-8 senior, who has committed to Army next season, averaged 19.4 points in leading the Trojans to a 23-3 season. Nate Dodge, a 6-3 junior guard, who averaged 19 points and Myles Olsen, a 6-0 senior guard, who averaged 6.3 per game and joined Plomb on the Rock North first team.

McFarland seniors Nik Ewelt and Adam Schulter fill out the Rock North first team.

Denny Morris of Clinton and Brian Kemmerer of Brodhead were co-coaches of the year for the South.

Mohns, a 6-1 sophomore forward, led the Brodhead girls to a Rock Valley South title with a 14-2 record, and finished 21-4 overall. Mohns averaged a team-leading 14.8 points, despite missing seven games due to injury.

Mohn’s teammate, Taylor Douglas, a 5-8 junior guard, joined Mohns on the first team. Douglas scored 13 points per game.

Clinton sophomores Mallory Niemann and Megan Lantz and Jen Petkoff, a Walworth Big Foot junior, complete the South first team.

Niemann averaged 14.4 points and Lantz averaged 15.1 to lead the Cougars to a second-place finish in the Rock Valley North. Petkoff, a 5-8 junior, averaged 11.1 points per game.

East Troy’s Gaspervic, a 5-5 junior, averaged 19.5 points through 25 games to lead the Trojans to a share of the Rock Valley North championship with a 15-1 mark. Teammate Rachel Atchison, a 5-6, junior, joins Gaspervic on the first team.

Whitewater sophomore Brooke Trewyn, Whippets’ senior Molly Griep and Edgerton junior Whitney Oren complete the Rock North first team.

Trewyn and Griep led the Whippets to a 23-2 record and a share of the Rock North title with East Troy, each 15-1. Trewyn scored 16.5 points and Griep 10.4. Oren averaged 12.9 points through 18 games for the Crimson Tide.

Brad Pickett of Brodhead and Judy Harms of Whitewater were the coaches of the year in the South and North, respectively.

McCann leads Milton

Sam McCann was named to the first team in Badger South All-Conference boys basketball.

McCann, a 6-6 senior, averaged 13.1 points through 18 games. Teammate Erick Bolden, a 6-8 senior, was second-team selection.

Tanner Boos, a Fort Atkinson junior, Austin Arians, a Madison Edgewood senior, and Stoughton seniors Connor Kowalkowski and Max Fuller complete the Badger South first team.

High school boys basketball


First team

Justin Langley sr., Clinton; Cody Risseeuw jr., Clinton; Chandler Stevenson, sr., Clinton; Tate Harnack, sr., Brodhead; Sam Burns, sr., Beloit Turner.

Second team

Alex Kelly jr., Palmyra-Eagle; Trent Jordan, sr., Brodhead; Jesse DeLorme, sr., Brodhead; Jeffery Bass, sr., Beloit Turner; Aaron Roth, sr., Clinton).

Honorable mention

Ken Walker, sr., Big Foot; David Earlywine, sr., Brodhead; Jacob Johnson, sr., Brodhead; Matt Preuss, jr., Palmyra-Eagle; Tyler Triola, sr., Palmyra-Eagle; Larry Kyser, sr., Parkview; Charlie Thole, jr., Parkview; Travis Appleby, jr., Beloit Turner; Jalen McMartin, jr., Clinton.

-- Player of the Year—Justin Langley

-- Co-coaches of the Year—Denny Morris (Clinton); Brian Kemmerer (Brodhead).


First team

Tanner Plomb, sr., East Troy; Nathan Dodge, jr., East Troy; Myles Olsen, sr., East Troy; Nik Ewelt, sr., McFarland; Adam Schluter, sr., McFarland.

Second team

Brett Prahl, jr., East Troy; Alex Prahl, jr., East Troy; Max McGowen, sr., Jefferson; Tyler Tabor, sr., Jefferson; Clayton Morrison, jr., Jefferson.

Honorable mention

Austin Morkved, sr., Whitewater; Paul Pelayo, jr., Whitewater; Cory Frank, jr., McFarland; Antwan Washington, jr., McFarland; Adam Converse, soph., Edgerton; Tyler Oren, sr., Edgerton; Owen Schoenenberger, jr., Evansville; Danny Walzack, sr., Evansville.

-- Player of the Year—Tanner Plomb.


First team

Tanner Boos, Jr., Fort Atkinson; Austin Arians, sr., Edgewood; Sam McCann, sr., Milton; Conner Kowalkowski, sr., Stoughton; Max Fuller, sr., Stoughton.

Second team

Jack Zwettler sr., Edgewood; Erick Bolden, sr., Milton; Brett Percy, jr., Monona Grove; David Solberg, sr., Oregon; Cole Brusegar, sr., Stoughton.

Honorable mention

Alex Bakken, soph., Fort Atkinson; Jimmy Hanson, sr., Fort Atkinson; Chris Wells, sr., Edgewood; Spencer Brink, sr., Edgewood; Matt Ripple jr., Edgewood; Mitch Geiger, sr., Monona Grove; Alex Barenklau, jr., Monroe; Nate Benson, sr., Oregon; Brad Sterling, sr., Oregon; Casey Schultz sr., Stoughton.

High school girls


First team

Carly Mohns, soph., Brodhead; Taylor Douglas, jr., Brodhead.; Mallory Niemann, soph., Clinton; Megan Lantz, soph., Clinton; Jen Petkoff, jr., Big Foot.

Second team

Rachel Heller, soph., Brodhead; Amanda Pickel, jr., Brodhead; Mikayla Strzok, jr., Parkview; Sam Morateck, jr., Palmyra-Eagle; Alyssa Luek , sr., Big Foot.

Honorable mention

Kayleigh Wedig, sr., Big Foot; Britani Isham, sr., Big Foot; Mariah Ahrens, jr., Brodhead; Caitlyn Rautsaw, jr., Palmyra-Eagle; DaNae Giese, jr., Palmyra-Eagle; Molly Wellnitz, sr., Parkview; Emily Harnack, sr., Parkview; Nicole Smith, jr., Turner; Lindsey Lauterbach, soph., Turner; Rachel Jacobson, sr., Clinton; Olivia Nickel, sr., Clinton.

-- Player of the Year—Carly Mohns.

-- Coach of the Year—Brad Pickett, Brodhead.


First team

Breanna Gaspervich, jr., East Troy; Rachel Atchison, jr., East Troy; Brooke Trewyn, soph., Whitewater; Molly Griep, sr., Whitewater; Whitney Oren, jr., Edgerton.

Second team

Alicia Oleson, jr., East Troy; Andrea Olsen, jr., East Troy); Magan Johnson, jr., Edgerton; Maddie Hettinger, soph., McFarland; Nicole Masterson, sr., Whitewater.

Honorable mention

Bryn Riemer, jr., East Troy; Alee Schahczinski, jr., East Troy; Courtney Samuels, sr., Whitewater; Morgan Harty, sr., Whitewater; Brielle Greenleaf, fr., Evansville; Kayla Klitzman, jr., Evansville; Stevie Winer, soph., McFarland; Rosie Runde, soph., McFarland; Alexia Wegner, sr., Jefferson; Kristin Wagner, sr., Jefferson; Sammy Gander, jr., Edgerton; Brooke Ferrell, jr., Edgerton.

-- Player of the Year—Breanna Gaspervich

-- Coach of the Year—Judy Harms, Whitewater

Last updated: 7:55 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print