Bluebirds’ Addie earns All-Big Eight honors

Print Print
Gazette staff
Thursday, March 15, 2012

Dan Addie wasn’t always the biggest player on the ice this season but he was one of the best.

The Janesville Craig junior and Janesville Bluebird defenseman was named All-Big Eight Conference first team. Addie led Janesville’s high school co-op team to a 13-10-1 record, finishing with nine goals and 17 assists.

Verona’s Eddie Matsushima, who led the Wildcats to the state semifinals, was named Player of the Year.

Although a bit undersized for a defenseman at 5-foot-9, and 170 pounds, Addie played much bigger, according to Janesville coach John Mauermann.

“He’s a strong kid who had a real physical presence when he was on the ice,” Mauermann said of Addie. “The effort was there every night from Dan, so it’s nice to see that the coaches from our league recognized that.

“Dan wants to play at the next level after high school, and if he keeps working hard, he should get the chance.”

Matsushima, a forward, led the Big Eight in scoring with 36 goals and 39 assists. The senior helped Verona win the conference title and finish with a 23-2 record.

“He worked well with his teammates and made them look better,” Mauermann said of Matsushima. “He deserved to be Player of the Year.”

Janesville senior forward Tanner Woodman was named to the second team.

All-Big Eight Hockey

First Team

Forwards—Eddie Matsushima, sr., Verona; Adam DeRosa, sr., Middleton; Zach Jones, jr., Verona.

Defensemen—Dan Addie, jr., Janesville; Cole Gastal, sr., Verona.

Goalie—Matt Ospal, sr., Verona.

Second Team

Forwards—Zachary Yozamp, sr., Sun Prairie; Alex Shuchuk, sr., West; Tanner Woodman, sr., Janesville.

Defensemen—Jake Bunz, jr., Middleton; Kolton Hatch, sr.

Goalie—Max McConnell, fr., Middleton.

n Player of the Year—Eddie Matsushima, Verona.

n Coach of the Year—Joel Marshall, Verona.

Honorable mention

Forwards—Charlie Parker, Verona; Ty Belton-Byce, Memorial; Brandon Thayer, Middleton; Dalton Jones, La Follette/East; Alejandro Kinder, La Follette/East; Mitch Willert, Sun Prairie.

Defensmen—Drew Mikalofsky, Sun Prairie; Scott Berthiaume, Middleton; Max McCaughey, West.

Goalie—Nate Teuscher, La Follette/East; Henry Cutting, West.


Verona, 12-1-1; Middleton, 11-1-2; Sun Prairie, 11-2-1; Janesville, 6-7-1; Madison West, 6-7-1; Beloit Memorial, 5-9; Madison La Follette/East, 2-12; Madison Memorial, 0-14.

Last updated: 7:57 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print