Parker's Richards honored

Print Print
Gazette staff
Thursday, June 21, 2012

A successful high school boys golf season has translated into postseason honors for Dustin Richards.

The recent Janesville Parker graduate was named to the All-Big Eight Conference first team.

Mitch Johnson of Middleton High is the Player of the Year after a dominating senior season that included a Big Eight Tournament title. Johnson is a University of New Mexico recruit.

Johnson and Richards are joined on the first team by Peter Webb of Madison Memorial, along with Middleton's Mike Wiebe and Eric Hagstrom.

Ryne Clatworthy. a Craig senior, and Parker senior Taylor Braun were honorable mention. Tom Cabalka is the Big Eight Coach of the Year.

Richards' season was highlighted by winning back-to-back titles on consecutive days in the Beloit Invitational and the Ashenfelter Invitational. Playing as Parker's No. 1 golfer the entire season, Richards helped lead the Vikings to the regional and sectional team titles, along with a berth at state.

"Being named first team is a testament to the quality season that Dustin had," Parker coach John Zimmerman said. "He was rewarded for his hard work, and also provided great leadership for the team.

All-Big Eight


Mitch Johnson, sr., Middleton; Peter Webb, jr., Madison Memorial; Dustin Richards, sr., Janesville Parker; Mike Wiebe, jr., Middleton; Eric Hagstrom, sr., Middleton.


John Springer, jr., Madison Memorial; Matt Opsal, sr., Verona; Tyler Reinecke, jr., Verona; Brad O'Loughlin, sr., Madison Memorial; Caleb Bates, jr., Verona.

n Player of the Year—Mitch Johnson, Middleton.

n Coach of the Year—Tom Cabalka, Middleton.


Beloit Memorial—Colton Kelley, soph.; Janesville Craig—Ryne Clatworthy, sr.; Janesville Parker—Taylor Braun, sr.; Madison East—Austin Edwards, sr.; Madison Memorial—Brett Olberg, jr.; Madison West—Carsten Slaky, sr; John Gillis, sr.; Verona—Matt Feller, jr.

Last updated: 8:44 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print