Janesville moving back to NAHL's North Division

Print Print
Gazette staff
Friday, June 8, 2012
— The North American Hockey League announced its teams and divisional alignment for the 2012-13 season. The 24-team league will be divided into four divisions (Central, North, South, West) spanning 13 states.

Eight teams will compete in the North Division, including the Janesville Jets. The North will also include

the Jamestown Ironmen, Johnstown Tomahawks, Kalamazoo Jr. K-Wings, Michigan Warriors, Port Huron Fighting Falcons, Soo Eagles and Springfield Jr. Blues.

Springfield is the closest team to Janesville at four hours, while Johnstown and Jamestown are both close to a 12-hour drive.

“We’re excited to get back into the North,” said Bill McCoshen, president of the Jets. “The travel is longer with a lot of the Eastern teams, but that’s a good thing, too.

“There are going to be a lot more Division I (college) schools located around the areas where we play a lot of the teams from our division. And that’s what our league is all about, trying to get these young men enough exposure where they end up being offered a college scholarship.”

The Aberdeen Wings, Austin Bruins, Bismarck Bobcats, Brookings Blizzard, Coulee Region Chill and Minot Minotauros make up the Central Division, which Janesville was a member of a year ago.

The South Division features the Amarillo Bulls, Corpus Christi IceRays, Odessa Jackalopes, Texas Tornado, Topeka RoadRunners and Wichita Falls Wildcats .

In the West, the Fairbanks Ice Dogs, Fresno Monsters, Kenai River Brown Bears and Wenatchee make up the four-team division.

Last updated: 8:49 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print