Davis, Miller earn top WIAC honors

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Wednesday, February 29, 2012
— Chris Davis led the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference in both scoring and rebounding this season.

Therefore, the UW-Whitewater senior was not a surprise pick when league coaches voted him WIAC Player of the Year.

Warhawk coach Pat Miller joined Davis with an elite league honor. Miller, a Janesville native, was selected as the WIAC Coach of the Year.

The Warhawks’ Luke Knoble, a junior forward, joined Davis on the 10-player first team.

Whitewater’s Eric Bryson, a sophomore guard out of Elkhorn High, earned honorable mention.

Lucas Burns, a junior out of Janesville Craig, earned a spot on the conference’s All-Sportsmanship team.

Davis was the catalyst behind the Warhawks’ run to the WIAC regular-season championship.

The 6-foot-6 forward led the conference with a 22.2-point scoring average and an 8.4-rebound average.

“He’s been consistent throughout the last two years,” Miller said. “He’s one of those rare players that’s made everyone around him better.”

Davis adapted when defenses concentrated on stopping him. His numbers are comparable to last season when he averaged 21.9 points and 9 rebounds a game and earned first-team honors.

Davis deserved the Player of the Year honor, Miller said.

“He’s had the largest impact on his team that any player had in the conference,” Miller said. “He’s a great teammate as well.”

Davis is the 12th individual in program history, and fourth in the last seven seasons, to earn the conference’s Player of the Year honor. Mike Gutter (1980), Andre McKoy (1984), Dwayne Johnson (1986), Elbert Gordon (1989), Ricky Spicer (1990), Ty Evans (1994), Allan Wassil (1996), James Stewart (1997), Jeremy Manchester (2006), Matt Goodwin (2008) and Dustin Mitchell (2010) also earned the elite title.

Knoble averaged 10.7 points and 4.8 rebounds a game.

“He’s done a great job,” Miller said. “He’s been consistent throughout the year. He’s rebounded well, scored when we needed him to and has had a great year defensively.

“That spot was a question mark going into the season, and he’s exceeded all expectations.”

Miller credited first-year assistant coach Lou Chapman with helping him guide the Warhawks to the conference championship.

With several younger players joining the rotation, the Warhawks weren’t expected to be in championship contention.

“This is a real positive group,” Miller said of the team. “They’ve done everything we’ve asked of them. It’s been an enjoyable year.”

It was the fourth time Miller has earned WIAC Coach of the Year honors.

Alex Bondar, a senior at UW-Platteville out of East Troy High, joined Burns on the All-Sportsmanship squad.

2012 All-WIAC Men’s Basketball Team


Name, School, Year

Forwards—Chris Davis, Whitewater, Sr.; Shane Manor, River Falls, Sr.; Dan Tillema, Stevens Point, Sr.; John Flanigan, Oshkosh, Sr.; Al Chery, La Crosse, Sr.; Luke Knoble, Whitewater, Jr.

Guard—Tyler Tillema, Stevens Point, Jr.; Ben Aalfs, Superior, Sr.; Brett Stangel, Platteville, Sr.; Jordan Petersen, Eau Claire, Jr.


River Falls—Brian Kimble, Sr., Guard; Wade Guerin, Sr., Center; Ollie White, Jr., Forward; Aaron Anderson, River Falls, Sr., Guard.

Stout—Alex Oman, Soph., Forward; Erik Olson, Stout, Jr., Guard.

Stevens Point—Jordan Brezinski, Sr., Center

Whitewater—Eric Bryson, Soph., Guard.

La Crosse—Cory Degner, Sr., Guard.

Superior—Brendan Bauer, Jr., Guard/Forward; Bronson Byrne, Soph., Center; Dustin Ritchie, Sr., Guard.


Nick Bartlett, Eau Claire, Sr., Guard

Luke Tweed, La Crosse, Soph., Guard

Greg Schrimpf, Oshkosh, Sr., Guard

Alex Bondar, Platteville, Sr., Center

Aaron Anderson, River Falls, Sr., Guard

Jordan Giordana, Stevens Point, Jr., Guard

Thomas Scholle-Malone, Stout, Jr., Forward

Dustin Ritchie, Superior, Sr., Guard

Lucas Burns, Whitewater, Jr., Forward

Player of the Year: Chris Davis of Whitewater

Coach of the Year: Pat Miller of Whitewater

Max Sparger Scholar-Athlete: Greg Schrimpf of Oshkosh

Last updated: 2:21 pm Thursday, December 20, 2012

Print Print