Cramer, Wedeward among Janesville Hall inductees

Print Print
Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Five new members have been elected to the Janesville Sports Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame, sponsored by The Janesville Gazette, has scheduled its 23rd annual induction ceremony for Saturday, May 26, at the Janesville Performing Arts Center.

A reception is scheduled for 5:30 p.m., which will be followed by the program.

Stories on each of the inductees will be featured in Sunday editions of the Gazette leading up to the induction night.

These people will be inducted:

-- Ron Cramer, who retired last June after serving 45 years as a teacher and coach in the Janesville School District, including 42 years as Parker High wrestling coach, during which his teams won 23 Big Eight dual championships and 29 conference tournaments

-- Nya Geschke, Parker High’s 2000 American Legion Athletic Medal winner, who earned 11 varsity letters, was an Associated Press first-team all-state basketball selection in the Vikings’ 2000 WIAA state championship season and went on to a distinguished basketball career at UW-Whitewater.

-- Ron Loveland, a two-time WIAA individual state champion and All-America standout for Janesville High School’s 1961 state title swim team.

-- Dr. Eric Stabb, a 1986 Parker High graduate and Big Eight cross country champion, who went on to become an All-Big Ten and All-Big Ten Academic standout for the University of Wisconsin’s conference and national championship cross country teams.

-- Dave Wedeward, who retired last November after 46 years in the Gazette sports department, including the last 39 as sports editor.

They will join these previous inductees:

1990—Pat Dawson, Stan DuFrane, Evelyn Kettle, Kenneth Kitelinger, Robert Krueger, Bob Luchsinger Sr., Robert J. Morgan, Ted Scalissi.

1991—Kenneth F. Bick, Kent Burdick, Robert E. Cone, Jim Davies, James F. Fitzgerald, Carol Sorenson Flenniken, Beulah Paynter, Edward F. Quaerna.

1992—George Clatworthy, Jerry Davis, Dr. Timothy Paterick, Harold E. Rebholz, Donna Rusch, Johnny Saxer, Fred T. Westphal.

1993—Roy Coyle, Len W. Gersmehl, Jan Hoffman, Carol Luther, Barbara Dietz Mayer, Steve Neece.

1994—Harold Kotwitz, Sharon Dollins Landsee, Frank Rabiola, George Raubacher, Keith Sterk, Robert E. Strampe Jr., Rolland Sultze.

1995—Ronald O.Boyd, Carol Enke, Ross Kingsley, Sam Leete, Fred Townsend.

1996—Mark A.Cullen, William G. Lathrop Sr., Arnold E. Quaerna, Patrick J. Schloemer, Maureen Sheehan.

1997—Ronald W. Fraser, Gary Gloede, Jody Rittenhouse White, Terry Ryan, Brian Steinke.

1998—Dale W. Barry, Dick Hemming, Dan Madden, Charles W. Weber Jr., Susan Von Behren Witte.

1999—William L. Henke, Robert Luchsinger Jr., Richard C. Meier, Nancy K. Russo, Ervin “Jimmy” Johnson.

2000—Lori Kemnitz Bell, Gerald “Jed” Black, Charles Bolton, Joseph Coulter, Stan Fox.

2001—The Rev. David Boyd, John Brodie, Jennah Burkholder Hartwig, Wesley Mayer, Steve Van Galder.

2002—Charles D. Fisher, Lyle G. Gifford, John E. “Jack” Herrington, Camilla L. Owen, Thomas R. Schumacher.

2003—Shane Fleming, Lois A. Gilmore, Lawrence A. Hough, Ralph. W. Truesdrill, John W. Westphal.

2004—Michael C. Davis, Paul A. Hanewall, Michael Liebenstein Jr., Evelyn Sieg, Chris Weber.

2005—John Bobzien, Tom Carpenter, Roger A. Fenrick, Dan Hauser, Brenda Smith-Beagley.

2006—Richard S. Brodie, Mark Greenhalgh, T. William Schleisner, Kristen Yahr Cope, Daniel T. Kowal.

2007—Walter Burkheimer, Gregg Clatworthy, Lynn Klipstein, Eric Liebenstein, Sam Mylin.

2008—Jayme Anderson, Richard Kingsley, Robb Logterman, Steven Nickols, John Thiede.

2009—Ann Pastula Benner, J.P. Cullen, Steve Ellis, Dan Ryczek, Bob Suter.

2010—Ben Berlowski, Laura Glass, Jenny Gullickson, Richard Lambrecht, Dr. Ray Martinez.

2011—John Brikowski, Tom Scalissi, Joel Schmitz, Gary Schieve, Alicia Pelton.

Ticket information for the 2012 induction and other program details will be announced later.

Last updated: 7:40 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print