United Way chapters honor volunteers, businesses

Print Print
Gazette staff
Friday, February 17, 2012

United Way of North Rock County and Stateline United Way recognized volunteers and businesses during respective annual meetings Thursday in Janesville and Beloit.

Officials with the United Way of North Rock County noted Thursday that, to date, $1.2 million has been raised toward the $1.3 million goal for the campaign being led by Daniel and David Cullen. Leaders report several campaigns are still outstanding, and when final results are tabulated, they expect the campaign goal will be met.

Ted Rehl, 2011 campaign chairman for Stateline United Way, announced Thursday that the organization met its $1.5 million goal.

Both organizations handed out honors and awards Thursday. Lists for both are included here:

United Way of North Rock County

-- Gold Awards (workplaces with at least 60 percent participation and $85 per capita): Alliant Energy; Arrowhead Library System; Baker Tilly Virchow Krause LLP; Bank of Milton; City of Janesville (city manager's office and community development, economic development, engineering, human resources and neighborhood services departments); Data Dimensions; Edison Middle School in Janesville; First Community Bank Milton; Forward Janesville; Johnson Bank; Kitson & Gaffney S.C.; Lanair Products; Meier, Wickhem, Lyons & Schulz; Nowlan & Mouat; Rock County (administration, county clerk's office, deferred prosecution, real property, and the treasurers office); Save-A-Lot Foods; Senior Services of Rock County; Southwest Wisconsin Workforce Development Board; The Literacy Connection; United Parcel Service; United Way of North Rock County and US Bank.

-- Silver Awards (workplaces with at least 50 percent participation and $50 per capita): Adams Elementary School in Janesville; Agrace HospiceCare; Boston Store; Catholic Charities; Century 21 Affiliated; City of Janesville (assessor's office and finance departments); Janesville Fire Department; Harris ACE Hardware; Jackson Elementary School in Janesville; Janesville Area Convention & Visitors Bureau; McGladrey & Pullen; Parker Community Credit Union; Reitz Dental Office; Robert W. Baird & Co.; Rock County (land conservation and surveyors office); Roethe Krohn Pope; Schwartz & Shea Insurance; Washington Elementary School in Janesville; and YWCA Rock County.

-- Bronze Awards (workplaces with at least 40 percent participation and $25 per capita): AnchorBank; Blackhawk Community Credit Union; Children's Service Society; City of Janesville (police department and water utility); Consigny Law Firm; Craig Senior High School in Janesville; Franklin Middle School in Janesville; Harrison Elementary School in Janesville; Janesville Community Day Care; J.C. Penney; Jefferson Elementary School in Janesville; Kennedy Elementary School in Janesville; Madison Elementary School in Janesville; Retired and Senior Volunteer Program; Rock County (emergency management, mediation and family court and veterans service); Roosevelt Elementary School in Janesville; Simmons Company; Target; Union Bank and Trust Co.; and Wells Fargo Advisors.

Campaign Best Practice Award: Data Dimensions received this award, which recognizes the workplace that most closely demonstrates United Way's best practices techniques in planning and implementing its campaign. Data Dimensions raised more than $91,010 for United Way in 2011.

Stateline United Way

-- Ebbie and Peggy Neese Award ($500 or more capita): Regal Beloit and Stateline United Way.

-- Gold Award ($150 to $499 per capita) ABC Supply, Blackhawk Bank, Electrol Specialties, Merrill Community Center, M&I Bank, Mid-States Concrete, North American Tool, Papa Murphy's, RSVP, Ryeco, Inc., and Siepert & Co.

-- Silver Award ($100 to $149 per capita): Beloit Meals on Wheels, Blackhawk Propane, Culver's, Durst Mastergear, Family Services, Finley Dencker, First National Bank, Gateway Community Bank, Metso Paper and RockTenn.

-- Bronze Award ($75 to $99 per capita): Big Brothers Big Sisters, Genencor, Hormel Foods, Taylor Co., The Salvation Army, Tricor Insurance and Welder's Supply.

-- The Spirit of the Stateline Award: This award was presented to Kerry Ingredients, which took a leadership role in the campaign this year with a focus on building an internal relationship with Stateline United Way and agency members. The company designed a public relations campaign to increase employee participation from 15 percent in 2010 to 20 percent in 2011. That happened, and employee giving increased by 50 percent during the 2011 campaign.

-- Thomas M. Jones Volunteer Award: This award was presented to Mary Griffith, employee relations manager at Fairbanks Morse. Griffith has served on Fairbanks Morse's internal campaign committee for various fundraising events for Stateline United Way for more than 12 years and has been an active board member for six years when she served on various committees.

-- $100,000 Club Awards: (businesses raising at least $100,000 each with employee and corporate gifts combined): ABC Supply, Fairbanks Morse, Regal Beloit and Taylor Co.

-- Most Key Club givers in 2011: ABC Supply.

-- Largest service club donation of 2011: Rotary Club of Beloit.

-- Largest dollar increase, corporate gift: Fairbanks Morse.

-- Most Day of Caring volunteers: Beloit Health System.

-- Largest dollar increase, employee giving: Kerry Ingredients.

Last updated: 7:42 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print