Delavan-Darien hits team state wrestling tourney

Print Print
Wednesday, February 15, 2012
— The wait is finally over for Delavan-Darien’s wrestling program.

Despite qualifying for the WIAA Team Sectional the last four years, the Comets came up short each time in their bid for a state team tournament berth.

Hunter Gramely punched their ticket to state Tuesday night.

The sophomore manhandled Port Washington’s Bryce Moeller, 14-3 in the last bout of the night at 120 pounds, to give Delavan-Darien a come-from-behind 31-29 win in the title match of the Division 2 Whitewater Team Sectional. Delavan-Darien beat Valders in the semifinals.

Delavan-Darien wrestles Ellsworth in a semifinal match at 1 p.m., Saturday, March 3, at the Field House in Madison. The Comets will be making the school’s first trip to the state team tournament.

In a back-and-forth match that Delavan-Darien trailed 29-27 heading into the 120-pound finale, Gramely had all the pressure on him as he stepped to the mat. A win meant the Comets were state-bound. A loss meant another painful end to the season.

“I was nervous when I first went out there,” Gramely said. “But once I got out on the mat, I shook it off and just wrestled. I knew early on that if I kept riding him and worked my stuff, I could get the win.”

The championship match began at 126 where Delavan-Darien’s Cody Chelminiak secured a 12-9 win to put his team up 3-0. The two teams traded wins in the next 10 matches, but the Comets picked up valuable points with pins from Marcus Hudson at 170 and Steve Brower at 195. Hudson, now 41-0 on the season, moved down from his customary 182-pound class to try and pick up six points with a pin.

Port Washington, which came into the Team Sectional ranked fourth in the state, won at 285, 106 and 113 to take a short-lived 29-27 lead.

Delavan-Darien’s Reed Wuttke scored six critical points at 215 when he won by disqualification. Port Washington’s Tyler Griswold was whistled for an illegal slam in the second period, and when Wuttke could not continue after a four-minute medical timeout due to a head injury, Griswold was disqualified.

“I don’t like to win the way we did because it’s almost bittersweet,” Delavan-Darien coach Craig Lodahl said. “Everyone’s gonna say we won because we got slammed, but rules are rules, and when you (Griswold) wrestle like that, nothing good can come of it.

“And I’ll tell you what. We’ve had it seems 50 things go wrong against us in the past, so this is the one time where something went right.”

The Comets also got wins in the title match from Kiefer Bennett (145) and Lukus Dittner (138).

(Sectional Final)


106—Noah Rosado (PW) major dec. over Austin Schwartz, 12-2; 113—Zach Smith (PW) pinned Landon Schramski, 3:35; 120—Hunter Gramely (DD) major dec. over Bryce Moeller, 14-3; 126—Cody Chelminiak (DD) dec. Robby Anheier, 12-9; 132—Tyler Madden (PW) dec. Zach Lazzeroni, 6-2; 138—Lukus Dittner (DD) dec. Nathan Schnell, 5-4; 145—Kiefer Bennett (DD) dec. Quentin Lueck, 5-2.

152—Jordan Dieringer (PW) dec. Kyndle Bennett, 9-2; 160—Adam Dreikosen (PW) dec. Diego Avila, 5-2; 170—Marcus Hudson (DD) pinned Josh Meins, 1:23; 182—Tyler Brown (PW) major dec. over Cody Peterson, 16-6; 195—Steve Brower (DD) pinned Ryan Steitz, 3:40; 220—Reed Wuttke (DD) won by disqualification Tyler Griswold; 285—Andy Fidler (PW) pinned Quentin DeRosier (DD), 1:16.

-- Starting weight—126.

(Sectional semifinal)


106—Austin Schwarz (DD) pinned Ian Jones, :35; 113—Landon Schramski (DD) won by forfeit; 120—Hunter Gramely (DD) tech fall Mulugeta Lehman, 19-2; 126—Cody Chelminiak (DD) pinned Caleb Peck. 3:33; 132—Zach Lazzeroni (DD) dec. Adam Miles, 3-2; 138—Lukus Dittner (DD) dec. Stetson McCuller, 10-7; 145—Kiefer Bennett (DD) pinned Justin Stenzel, 1:08; 152—Kyndle Bennett (DD) dec. Jake Ditter, 5-1; 160—Tanner Duchow (V) dec. Diego Avila 8-7, 2 OT; 170—Josh Kleinhans (V) pinned Alex Limones, 1:08; 182—Marcus Hudson (DD) dec. Austin Shillcox, 5-2; 195—Steve Brower (DD) pinned Jon Braun, :37; 220—Brandon Brennan (V) pinned Reed Wuttke, 4:56; 285—Shawn Schnell (V) pinned Quentin DeRosier, :35.

-- Starting weight—120

Badger makes state

Lake Geneva Badger’s 34-31 victory over Stoughton in a WIAA Division 1 sectional wrestling semifinal came down to the final match Tuesday at Janesville Craig.

The Badgers’ Tayler Hildenbrandt pinned Stoughton’s Mac Schumaker in 5 minutes, 35 seconds of the 182-pound bout.

The Badgers will take on Hartford in a quarterfinal match in the WIAA State Team Tournament that begins March 2 at the UW Field House.

Stoughton won seven of the first 10 bouts, but Badger rallied to win the last four matches to stagger the Vikings.


106—Caleb Smith (S) major dec. Zach Leonard, 14-2; 113—Zach Hasselberger (S) major dec. Edgar Ortiz, 12-4; 120—Michael Coyne (LGB) dec. Endre Krumholz, 7-3; 126—Devon McCune (S) dec. Chris Oberholtzer, 5-0. 132—Nick Urso (S) pinned Bryan Nugent, 1:37; 138—Randy Shine (LGB) pinned Kyle Moore, 1:34; 145—Joe Nelson (S) pinned Tristan Steiner, 3:45; 152—Rory Shine (LGB) maj. dec. Isaac Keller, 12-4; 160—Andrew Cychner (LGB) pinned Aaron Knudtson, 1: 14; 170—Tyler Otero (LGB) dec. Zach Hershey, 9-4; 182—Tayler Hildenbrandt (LGB) pinned Mac Shumaker, 5:35; 195—Dillon Dewey (S) major dec. Robert Johnson, 12-4; 220—Eddie Ruzga (LGB) pinned Danny Olson, 1:24; 285—Jessie Nelson (S) major dec. Tom Cychner, 12-1.

-- Match started at 106.

Evansville/Albany falls

Evansville/Abany lost 64-6 to Sparta in WIAA Division 2 sectional semifinal wrestling Tuesday at Wisconsin Dells.

Alex Yoerger pinned Sparta’s Kyle Burkhalter for Evansville/Albany’s lone victory.


106—Dylan Winchel (S) won by forfeit; 113—John Roddick (S) tech. fall Brandon Robinson, 18-2; 120—Brock Polhamus (S) dec. Skyler Mullen, 6-2; 126—Tristan Zurfluh (S) dec. Alex Lange, 3-2; 132—Derek VonRuden (S) pinned Hayden Milz, 5:49; 138—Paul Vantassel (S) pinned Kollin Madsen, 5:59; 145—Michael Murnane (S) pinned Ethan Rossmiller, 2:56; 152—Toby Mosley (S) tech fall Luke Gunn, 17-2; 160—Robert Ragan (S) pinned Aaron Campbell, 3:15; 170—Greg Skon (S) dec. Evan Benedict, 10-3; 182—Alex Yoerger (E/A) pinned Kyle Burkhalter, 1:58; 195—Daniel Dawley (S) pinned Ben Reed, 5:43; 220—Michael Beeler (S) dec. Cody Meyer, 9-3; 285—Chris Beeler (S) pinned Michael Henrich, 1:34.

-- Match began at 138

Last updated: 7:43 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print