Three seats could be open on BTC board

Print Print
Gazette staff
Thursday, February 2, 2012

The Blackhawk Technical College Board will have at least one new member in July.

The board is seeking applicants for three, three-year seats on the board. Applications will be accepted until 4 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 9.

Heidi Carvin of Evansville has indicated she will step down from the board. Carvin is the board's legally required school district administrator, so a different district administrator from Rock or Green county is needed to take her spot.

The others whose terms are ending are Tom Westrick of Milton and Mary Soddy of Monroe. Soddy fills the legally required "employer member." Westrick is an "employee member."

It's not yet known whether Soddy or Westrick will apply to continue on the board, said Jackie Pins, assistant to the BTC Board and president.

The terms start July 1 and end June 30, 2015. Board members are not paid. Three members of the nine-member board are appointed each year.

Applicants must submit two references supporting their nominations and must attend a meeting of the District Board Appointment Committee to be interviewed.

The committee, comprising the county board presidents of Rock and Green counties, meets at 5 p.m. Wednesday, March 14, in Room N-1 at the Rock County Courthouse, 51 S. Main St., Janesville.

A second meeting might be scheduled at the same time and place on Monday, March 19, to accommodate candidates who could not attend the first meeting.

Applications forms may be obtained by contacting Jackie Pins, Blackhawk Technical College, 6004 S. County G, P.O. Box 5009, Janesville, WI 53547. Her phone number is (608) 757-7772.

Last updated: 7:48 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print