Greenhills among honorees at UW-Whitewater Founders Day

Print Print
Monday, April 23, 2012
— Former UW-Whitewater Chancellor H. Gaylon Greenhill and his wife, Hannah, were honored during weekend Founders Day ceremonies on the UW-Whitewater campus on Saturday.

The Greenhills received the 2012 S.A. White Award for their many contributions to the campus. H. Gaylon Greenhill served as chancellor from 1991 to 1999. He led the school through the Excellence for the 21st Century campaign.

The couple established the Greenhill Endowment, which funds scholarships in art and education, and they are supporters of athletics and the Young Auditorium.

The award is named for Samuel A. White, a judge who was instrumental in the founding in April 1868 of Whitewater Normal School, which would become UW-Whitewater.

Other award winners honored in the James R. Connor University Center were:

-- Andrew Burish, Distinguished Alumni Award for Professional Achievement. A 1982 Master of Business Administration graduate, Burish is managing director of UBS Financial Services and leads The Burish Group with offices in Madison, Milwaukee and Chicago.

-- James Lindenberg, Distinguished Alumni Award for Professional Achievement. A 1981 graduate, Lindenberg built and sold World Class Wire and Cable and continues as an entrepreneur with Lindy Enterprises, a business consulting firm, and JML Holdings, a real estate investment business in Waukesha County. He also owns Milwaukee Wave, Milwaukee's indoor soccer team, and serves as president of the team's charitable arm.

-- Michael Spellman, Distinguished Alumni Award for Service to UW-Whitewater. Spellman graduated in 1969 and served as assistant chancellor for development and public relations. He also served as executive director of UW-Whitewater Foundation. Nearly $60 million was raised for the university during his tenure.

-- Melvin Juette, Distinguished Alumni Award for Community/Regional Service. Juette, a 1992 graduate, led the UW-Whitewater wheelchair basketball team and became the first Warhawk to be chosen for the national team. He created a foundation to support recreation for people with disabilities and will be an assistant basketball coach this summer for the USA National Paralympics team in London.

-- Michelle Maurer Nimmo, Outstanding Recent Alumni Award. Nimmo, who graduated in 2000, used a business plan written in class and bought Anasazi Spa and Salon in Janesville. She sold the business and entered the medical spa industry by creating Anasazi Medical Spa.

Outstanding juniors who received $1,000 scholarships from the UW-Whitewater Alumni Association are:

-- Jocelyn Sveum, Edgerton, who is majoring in early childhood education.

-- Valerie Jach, Brookfield, an accounting and finance major.

-- Megan Kell, Burlington, who is majoring in choral and general music education.

-- Samantha Pratt, Muskego, who is a history and Spanish major.

Last updated: 8:05 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print