Edgerton junior earns repeat golf honor

Print Print
Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Brooke Ferrell fell short in her bid for a WIAA Division 2 state championship, but the Edgerton High junior golfer has come up with the next-best thing.

Ferrell again is among the elite six as a first-team repeater in the Wisconsin State Golf Association all-state selections, which combine Divisions 1 and 2.

Osceola junior Casey Danielson, the Division 2 state champion for the third straight year, and Waukesha junior Emily Joers, the Division 1 winner for the second time in three years, have been named Co-Players of the Year.

Stoughton sophomore Rebecca Klongland, Madison Edgewood junior Lexi Greytak and Kettle Moraine junior Leighann Cabush complete the first team.

Milton junior Stephanie Stair, who led the Red Hawks to their second straight second-place finish in the Division 1 state tournament earlier this month, is on the second team. Laura Stair, Stephanie’s twin sister, and Lake Geneva Badger senior Annie Gaugert have received honorable mention.

Ferrell’s latest honor comes after her third straight trip to the state tournament. She tied for third in Division 2 this year after placing second last year and fifth as a freshman.

This year’s accomplishment was particuarly commendable since Ferrell played through the last month of the season with a wrist injury that she suffered in an invitational tournament at Middleton.

Ferrell still went on to repeat as Rock Valley Conference champion, take second in WIAA regional competition and tie for third in the sectional. Despite the injury, she also shot 79-77 rounds in the state tournanent at University Ridge, becoming one of only three Division 2 players below 80 both days.

“I’m extremely happy,” Ferrell said afterward. “You always feel like you could play better, but I’m very happy.”

But the gain admittedly came with pain.

“I tried not think about it or use it as an excuse,” Ferrell said of the injury. “But it really hurt.”

Typical of the family tradition, however, Edgerton opponents felt most of the pain in competing against Ferrell. While maintaining the pace set by her sister, Allyssa, a three-time all-state player and now a Michigan State University sophomore golfer, Brooke led her team to the Rock Valley title and repeated as champion of the Janesville Invitational with a 3-under-par 69.

Overall, Ferrell averged 37 for nine-hole matches and 76.5 for 18.

“Her sophomore year was sensational, and she maintained that level,” Edgerton coach Steve Zartman said. “So it was a very successful year.”

The Stair twins also followed a family accomplishment with notable success. After her graduated sister, Ashton, won the Division 1 state title last season, Stephanie took a 42.3 average for nine holes into this year’s state tournament. Her 77-76 rounds at University Ridge put her in fifth place and boosted the Red Hawks to the No. 2 spot.

Laura contributed to the team success with a 40.8 pre-state average and rounds of 83-82 at University Ridge.

“I think it was a great day for me and the team,” Stephanie told the Gazette reporter after the final round. “I love this course … and it was good to us today.”

Coaches’ all-state girls golf


Leighann Cabush, Kettle Moraine, jr.; Casey Danielson, Osceola, jr.; Brooke Ferrell, Edgerton, jr.; Lexi Greytak, Madison Edgewood, jr.; Rebecca Klongland, Stoughton, soph.


Sienna Chapman, Racine Prairie, soph.; Sammie Leibham, Sheboygan North, sr.; Olivia Lindsley, Green Bay Preble, sr.; Ashley Madden, Waunakee, sr.; McKenzie Parks, Oregon, sr.; Jessie Staed, Green Bay Notre Dame, soph.; Stephanie Stair, Milton, jr.


Stephanie Gerber, Sheboygan North, sr.; Nikki Isaacson, Racine Prairie, jr.; Caroline Lake, Madison Edgewood, fr.; Janie McDonough, Milwaukee DSHA, sr.; Lauren Olsen, Mequon Homestead, jr.; Jessica Reinecke, Verona, fr.; Avery Steen, Luck, jr.


Audrey Ackley, Milwaukee DSHA, sr.; Ally Amadon, Kettle Moraine, jr.; Becca Brielmaier, Milwaukee DSHA, jr.; Abby Dufrane, Marinette, soph.; Grace Dunn, Brookfield Central, fr.; Annie Gaugert, Lake Geneva Badger, sr.; Sammi Grunder, Portage, sr.; Peyton Gunnison, Hartland Arrowhead, sr.; Sierah Gurske, Brookfield East, jr.

Tess Hackworthy, Madison Edgewood, fr.; Annika Hitt, Mequon Homestead, fr.; Lauren Klubertanz, Waukesha Memorial, soph.; Emilee McCusker, Hayward, jr.; Bianca Mendez, Fond do Lac, sr.; Rachel Morris, Mequon Homestead, jr.; Brittany Neff, Hayward, jr.; Jordan Nichols, Mukwonago, sr.; Grace Onsrud, La Crosse, jr.

McKenzie Paul, Neenah, jr.; Kayla Priebe, Fox Valley Lutheran, fr.; Brandi Rajala, Waukesha, sr.; Lauren Reeg, Hartland Arrowhead, soph.; Lauren Smith, Mequon Homestead, jr.; Laura Stair, Milton, jr.; Emily Sweet, Mequon Homestead, sr.; Christine Tang, Brookfield Central, jr.; Carly Vanderheyden, Green Bay Notre Dame, jr.; Dana Wagner, Tomah, jr.

Last updated: 6:39 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print