Badgers’ duo earns first-team honors

Print Print
Associated Press
Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Wisconsin quarterback Russell Wilson and running back Montee Ball, who led the Badgers to the Leaders Division title and a berth in the Big Ten championship game, have been chosen all-league first team in balloting by both coaches and media.

Wilson, a transfer from N.C. State, was also the recipient of the first quarterback of the year award named for former Purdue signal callers Bob Griese and Drew Brees. Ball, the only unanimous selection on both the media and coaches teams, won the running back of the year award, given in the name of ex-Badgers Alan Ameche and Ron Dayne.

Iowa’s Marvin McNutt won the award as the conference’s best receiver; Northwestern’s Drake Dunsmore was selected the top tight end; Michigan’s center David Molk was chosen the top offensive lineman; Penn State’s Devon Still got the nod as the best defensive lineman; Nebraska’s Lavonte David was chosen the top linebacker and Cornhuskers teammate Alfonzo Dennard picked as the best DB; Nebraska’s Brett Maher was a double winner when he was selected the top place-kicker and punter in the league.

The Badgers will play Michigan State in the championship game Saturday night at Indianapolis with the winner headed to the Rose Bowl. Michigan State’s Kirk Cousins was chosen second-team quarterback by the coaches, while Michigan’s versatile Denard Robinson was tabbed by the media.

Last updated: 6:50 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print