Carrier ends Beloit career with first-team honor

Print Print
Gazette staff
Thursday, November 17, 2011

Not only did Beloit College’s Derek Carrier and Ripon College’s Jake Gahart break a slew school records this season, they shattered them.

Both were named All-Midwest Conference first team. Carrier made the first team for the second straight year.

Carrier, a 6-foot-4, 235-pound Beloit College senior, is the school’s all-time leader in receptions (189), yards (3,111) and touchdowns (29).

The Edgerton High School graduate also broke the single-season record for receptions with 75 and yards with 1,250. He also tied his own record with 12 touchdowns.

His 88 points this season were the fourth most in a season. Carrier had 15 100-yard plus receiving games in the last three seasons, including seven this season.

Gahart, an Elkhorn High School graduate, made a school record 15 field goals this season. The junior missed only one attempt all season and made a school-record 54-yarder against Lawrence in the final game of the season.

Beloit junior offensive lineman Hayden Simonis, a Janesville Parker graduate, was named to the second team.

All-Midwest Conference

First Team


QB—Alex Tanney, sr., Monmouth.

RB—Joe Beckstrand, sr., Carroll; Trey Yocum, soph., Monmouth; Cecil Brimmage, soph., Illinois.

WR—Derek Carrier, sr., Beloit; Kevin Davis, sr., Lake Forest; Mike Blodgett, sr., Monmouth.

TE—David Milroy, sr., Monmouth.

OL—Aaron Walsh, sr., Carroll; Keith Lane, soph., Illinois; James Allen, sr., Monmouth; Kyle Srnka, sr., Ripon; Tyler Kuehl, sr., St. Norbert.

PK—Jake Gahart, jr., Ripon.

RS—Keith Hunter, jr., Illinois.

n Offensive Player of the Year—Alex Tanney, sr., Monmouth.


DL—Josh Zank, jr., Carroll; Mike Kettmann, sr., Monmouth; Dan Hansmann, sr., St. Norbert; John Troyer, sr., St. Norbert.

LB—Mike Dziewit, sr., Carroll; Mike Hendrick, jr., Knox; Adam Hoste, sr., Monmouth; Ben Nantell, sr., St. Norbert.

DB—Luke Butts, sr., Lake Forest; Shane Reschke, sr., Monmouth; Austin Arts, jr., St. Norbert; Eric Fisher, sr., Illinois.

P—Eric Fisher, sr., Illinois.

ST—Logan Krueger, sr., St. Norbert.

n Defensive Player of the Year—Mike Dziewitt, sr., Platteville.

n Coach of the Year—Steve Bell, Monmouth.


Monmouth College, 9-0; Illinois College, 8-1; St. Norbert College, 7-2; Carroll University, 6-3; Ripon College, 5-4; Grinnell College, 4-5; Lake Forest College, 3-6; Beloit College, 2-7; Lawrence University, 1-9; Knox, 0-9.

Last updated: 6:54 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print