Madison East wins conference tennis title

Print Print
Gazette staff
Friday, May 20, 2011
— Janesville players advanced to the consolation finals at No. 1 singles, No. 1 doubles and No. 2 doubles to highlight action at Thursday’s Big Eight Conference tennis meet.

Madison East won the title with 49 points, while Middleton was second with 39. Janesville Craig finished seventh with 3 points, and Janesville Parker tied for eighth with 1.5.

Parker’s Matt Knutson lost in the championship of the consolation finals at No. 1 singles.

Craig’s No. 1 doubles team of Mo McCrone and Stewart Winter, along with the No. 2 doubles team of Zack Hardin and Cody Lipetri, also lost in the consolation finals.

“We had a pretty good day,” Craig High coach Justin Long said. “We finished eighth in the conference dual meets and seventh today. Anytime you can move up in the standings, that’s good.

“We also won four of our six pigtail matches. That was encouraging.”

Craig and Parker will compete in the WIAA Division 1 subsectional Monday at Palmer Park.

Big Eight tennis

At Nielsen Stadium


Madison East 49. Middleton 39, Verona 29, Madison West 24, Madison Memorial 24.5, Sun Prairie 4.5, Janesville Craig 3, Janesville Parker 1.5, Beloit Memorial 1.5, Madison La Follette 1.5.


No. 1—Title: Gilmore (ME) def. Boomgarden (V), 2-6, 6-3, 6-1; Third: Schnaar (MM) def. Stork (MW), 6-0, 2-6, 6-4.

No. 2—Title: Rodgers (ME) def. Argall (V), 4-6, 6-3, 7-5; Third: Hogendorn (Mid) def. Degan (MW), 6-2, 7-5.

No. 3—Title: Potter (ME) def. Luskin (Mid), 6-3, 6-4; Third: Davenport (V) def. Navarro (MW), 6-1, 6-1.

No. 4—Title: Elbow (ME) def. Luskin (Mid), 6-1, 6-4; Third: McLean (V) def. Bogost (MM), 6-1, 6-4.


No. 1—Title: France-Cohen (ME) def. McKenzie-DeLong (MW), 2-6, 6-3, 7-5; Third: Naden-Frank (Mid) def. Abdelhameed-Blumenfeld (MM), 6-0, 2-6, 6-4.

No. 2—Title: Schmitz-Ramaswami (Mid) def. Jun-Mount (MM), 6-1, 6-2; Third: Seow-Jin (MW) def. Hadjiev-Gerdes (V), 6-1, retired.

No. 3—Title: Niesen-Cope (Mid) def. McClintock-Redinger (ME), 6-3, 6-1; Third: Setaluni-Ginther (MM) def. Yen-Felgus (MW), 2-6, 6-2, 6-1.

Last updated: 5:10 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print