Johnson, Meyer on all-star squad

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Thursday, June 23, 2011

It’s all-star weekend in Wisconsin high school baseball, and two standouts will represent Janesville in the two-day event for graduated seniors.

Kyle Johnson, Parker’s All-Big Eight infielder, and Charlie Meyer, a Craig catcher who received all-conference honorable mention, have been named to the South squad for the three-game, round-robin competition that begins Friday at Oshkosh West High School.

Johnson comes off a high school season in which he hit .425 and was Parker’s No. 2 pitcher.

The South opens with a 4 p.m. game against the North, then plays the East at 10:30 a.m. Saturday and the West at 3 p.m.

Orfordville Parkview outfielder Matt Woodstock, who hit .457 in becoming the Player of the Year in the Rock Valley South, also is on the South all-star team. So is Palmyra-Eagle pitcher Jared Kinjerski, who averaged more than two strikeouts an inning and threw two no-hitters.

The South squad, which has Craig’s Victor Herbst as one of the coaches, also will include five other All-Big Eight standouts—Middleton outfielder Luke Meeteer, Madison West pitcher/infielder Ben Pearson, Madison East outfielder Pete Strommen, Verona pitcher Matthew Gust and Verona catcher Ben Jennings. Meeteer was first-team pick in the Wisconsin Baseball Coaches Association all-state selections.

Jefferson infielder Patrick Cottrell, the Rock Valley North’s Player of the Year, is on the East squad.

WBCA All-Stars


Roster: Charlie Meyer, c, Janesville Craig; Ben Jennings, c, Verona; Cody Carmody, p, Barneveld; Matthew Gust, p, Verona; Jarred Kinjersnki, p, Palmyra-Eagle; Curtis Morgan, p, Green Lake; Brady Nelson, p, Mauston; Thomas Seiler, p, Sauk Prairie; Ben Pearson, p-if, Madison West; Tyson Fredrick, if, Mount Horeb; Kyle Johnson, if, Janesville Parker; Brooks McMahon, if, Oregon; Ryan Nyhagen, if, Stoughton; Joe Halley, if, Lodi; Luke Meeteer, of, Middleton; Alex Yacko, of, Wisconsin Dells; Matt Woodstock, of, Orfordville Parkview; Pete Strommen, of, Madison East.

Coaches: Victor Herbst, Janesville Craig; Greg Gilles, Stoughton; Chris Lavold, Mauston.


Roster: Joe Balestreri, c, Union Grove; Josh Jesko, c, Oak Creek; Alex McRae, p, New Berlin Eisenhower; Rex Morrow, p, Burlington Catholic Central; Cole Borek, p, Muskego; Jon Nick, p, West Bend West; Jake Tuttle, p, Mukwonago; Mitch Ducett, if, Mukwonago; Trevor Theissen, if, Franklin; Aaron Jushka, if, Waukesha West; T.J. Floyd, if, Burlington Catholic Central; Patrick Cottrell, if, Jefferson; Shane Hayes, if, West Bend West; Dillion Engle, if, West Allis Hale; Sammy Oliden, of, South Milwaukee; Jay Dirienzo, of, Franklin; Evan Walton, of, Franklin; Ryan Hinz, of, Brookfield Central.

Coaches: John Galewski, South Milwaukee; Jim Hughes, Franklin; Scott Schimmel, New Berlin Eisenhower.


Roster: Josh Sommer, c, Bay Port; Ben Morgan, c, Appleton North; Marshall Zahn, p, Bay Port; Tyler Willman, p, Oshkosh West; Tyler Roberts, p, Neenah; Jordan Jess, p, Ripon; Cody Heiman, p, Appleton East; Nick Prebelski, p, Green Bay Notre Dame; Mitch Schreiber, if, Kimberly; Eric Kennan, if, Weyauwega-Fremont; Troy Rottier, if, Seymour; Cody Pangrazzi, if, Green Bay Preble; Chase Eagen, if, Appleton North; Riley Spetz, if, Sevastopol; Nick Heiman, of, Oshkosh North; Brett Nockerts, of, Wrightstown; Heath Rowe, of, Marinette; Sam Rein, of, Kimberly.

Coaches: Tom Carney, Kimberly; Jeff Fasher, Weyauwega-Fremont; Greg Pangazzi, Green Bay Preble.


Roster: Tony Schultz, c, West Salem; Brad Flaherty, c, Unity; Koleman Schilling, c, Marathon; Justin Jaquish, p, Chippewa Falls; Jared Hardina, p, Wisconsin Rapids; Mitch Voter, p, La Crosse Central; Kyle Gauger, p, Spooner; Cody Hanke, if, Marathon; Jack Osness, if, Merrill; Mark Arbuckle, if, Ashland; Clay Giese, if, Stevens Point; Sully Luepke, if, Marshfield; Tyler Hermann, if, Eau Claire North; Jimmy Coady, of, La Crosse Aquinas; Dan Kellen, of, Rhinelander; Joe Rose, of, D.C. Everest; Taylor Reinhardt, of, Medford.

Coaches: Jason Bobb, Chippewa Falls; Kraig Terpstra, Stevens Point; Joe Waite, Cumberland.

Last updated: 5:35 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print