Parkview’s retiring Millis named Rock Valley South Coach of Year

Print Print
Gazette staff
Wednesday, June 22, 2011

Dick Millis went out in style.

The Orfordville Parkview baseball coach retired after 19 seasons but not before leading the Vikings to the Rock Valley South Conference title and being named the division’s Coach of the Year.

Parkview High senior outfielder Matt Woodstock is the Player of the Year in the South.

Jefferson infielder Patrick Cottrell is Player of the Year in the North, while Edgerton’s Mike Gregory is Coach of the Year.

Parkview won the South with an 11-5 record and advanced to WIAA Division 3 sectional play before losing to eventual state runner-up Pardeeville.

“I would’ve liked to have won a couple more games,” Millis said. “We had a nice group of kids but came up short at the end.

“But the program is in good shape. There are some real nice players coming back.”

Woodstock, a senior, batted .457 this season and compiled impressive career numbers. He had 95 hits in three varsity seasons and won 53 games.

“Matt’s the kind of player every coach wants,” Millis said. “He was probably not the best athlete on the team, but he was the best baseball player.

“He works hard, takes nothing for granted and maximizes his potential.”

Parkview also has sophomore infielder Riley Pearson on the South’s first team. Pearson hit .375 in conference games and had four home runs.

Palmyra-Eagle’s Jared Kinjerski and Clinton’s Aaron Roth have made the first team for the second straight year. Kinjerski, a senior pitcher, averaged more than two strikeouts an inning and threw two no-hitters this season.

Other first-team South selections are Beloit Turner’s Austin Andrews, Tanner Burt and Tyler Reese; Walworth Big Foot’s Mike Kunes, Jordan Gottman, Luke Kahl and Tyler Santeler; Clinton’s Dane Brandl; and Palmyra-Eagle’s Phil Sallis.

Edgerton won the Rock Valley North title as Gregory was named Coach of the Year for the second straight season.

Cottrell, along with teammate Zach Peachey, earned first-team honors for the second straight year.

Other first-team North selections are Edgerton’s Bryant Schulte, Zach Nelson and Tyler Oren; McFarland’s Brian O’Malley, Tyler Wedel and Ross Voelker; and Evansville’s Casey Moseley.

All-Rock Valley Baseball


First Team

P—Jared Kinjerski, sr., Palmyra-Eagle; Austin Andrews, sr., Turner.

C—Tanner Burt, sr., Turner; Dane Brandl, sr., Clinton; Tyler Santeler, sr., Big Foot.

IF—Luke Kahl, jr., Big Foot; Sam Burns, jr., Turner; Riley Pearson, soph., Parkview; Phil Sallis, sr., Palmyra-Eagle.

OF—Matt Woodstock, sr., Parkview; Tyler Reese, jr., Turner; Aaron Roth, jr., Clinton; Mike Kunes, sr., Big Foot.

Utility—Jordan Gottman, sr., Big Foot.

Second Team

P—Justin Langley, jr., Clinton; Justin Kavery, soph., Parkview.

C—Garret Koch, sr., Parkview.

IF—Trever Aasen, soph., Parkview; Tyler Reese, jr., Turner; Joe Fox, sr., Palmyra-Eagle; Tate Harnack, jr., Brodhead.

OF—Brandon Neal, soph., Parkview; Kyle Wescott, soph., Brodhead; James Kollasch, jr., Clinton; Vaughn Bourassa, sr., Big Foot.

Utility—Tyler Malcook, jr., Brodhead.

Player of the Year—Matt Woodstock, Parkview.

Coach of the Year—Dick Millis, Parkview.

Honorable Mention

Big Foot—Carter Hehr, soph.; Ryan Recknagel, jr.; Brodhead—Carson Scheidegger, sr.; Trent Gerlach, soph.; Clinton—Richard Kruckenberg, jr.; Tyler Chesmore, sr.; Palmyra-Eagle—Austin Casper, sr.; Alex Murn, jr.; Parkview—Josh Bartelt, sr.; Turner—Brandan Noack, soph.; Clayton Stenulson, soph.

Final Standings

Orfordville Parkview, 11-5; Clinton, 10-6; Beloit Turner, 10-6; Palmyra-Eagle, 9-7; Walworth Big Foot, 6-10; Brodhead, 5-11.


First Team

P—Bryant Schulte, sr., Edgerton; Cody Pfeifer, jr., Jefferson.

C—Ross Voelker, sr., McFarland.

IF—Patrick Cottrell, sr., Jefferson; Tyler Oren, jr., Edgerton; Tyler Wedel, sr., McFarland; Casey Moseley, sr., Evansville.

OF—Zach Peachey, jr., Jefferson; Brian O’Malley, sr., McFarland; Zach Nelson, sr., Edgerton.

Utility—Ryan Fischer, jr., McFarland.

Second Team

P—Luke Heller, sr., Whitewater; Collin Gregory, jr., Edgerton.

C—Cory Roth, jr., Jefferson.

IF—Brady Steinberg, sr., McFarland; Ben Longstreet, sr., East Troy; Sutton DeVoll, soph., Edgerton; Ryan Weaver, jr., Evansville.

OF—Matt Vogel, sr., Jefferson; Aaron Brunner, jr., Whitewater; Corey O’Hearn, sr., McFarland.

Utility—Evan Deegan, soph., Edgerton.

Player of the Year—Patrick Cottrell, Jefferson.

Coach of the Year—Mike Gregory, Edgerton.

Honorable Mention

East Troy—Myles Olsen, East Troy; Justin Hanke, sr.; Edgerton—Isaac Hanson, soph; Jordan Hammer, sr.; Evansville—Dan Walczak, jr.; Joey Carpenter, soph.; Jefferson—Heath Renz, fr.; Ryan McDermott, sr.; McFarland—James Runde, sr.; Andrew Lunden, sr.; Whitewater—Dan Schumacher, soph.; Lucas Van Norman, sr.

Final Standings

Edgerton, 11-5; McFarland, 10-6; Jefferson, 9-7; East Troy, 5-11; Whitewater, 5-11.

Last updated: 5:35 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print