Schmidt, Stampfli Players of the Year

Print Print
Gazette staff
Tuesday, June 21, 2011

If you remember last year’s all-conference teams in Rock Valley softball, you probably have a pretty good grip on what happened this season.

Edgerton High and Brodhead not only repeated as champions, but the coaches’ all-conference selections for each division have a strikingly familiar look to a year ago. There are eight first-team repeaters in the South and four in the North.

Most notable are Edgerton senior shortstop Meggie Schmidt and Brodhead senior pitcher Erika Stampfli. Both are third-time picks for the first team in their divisions and the 2011 Players of the Year in the North and South, respectively.

It marks the second time this school year that Schmidt, a WIAA Scholar Athlete, has received that honor. She also was the North’s Player of the Year in basketball after also leading her team to a division championship.

Schmidt, who plans to play two sports at the University of Dubuque, hit .446 this season as a key player for an Edgerton team that went 15-1 in the Rock Valley North, 22-3 overall and reached the WIAA sectional finals after finishing No. 1 in the coaches’ Division 2 state ratings. While her team set a school record for wins in a season, Schmidt did the same in accumulating 56 total bases, and she had a .958 fielding percentage with only four errors in 95 chances over 167 innings.

“Meggie had a real solid season to close out her high school career,” said Edgerton’s Tony DeWar, the North’s Coach of the Year after directing the Crimson Tide to a fourth straight championship. “She had a real consistent year at the plate, with a little bit more power, and a big thing was her improvement on defense. Her fielding percentage was way up, and she’ll get a team gold glove award.”

Typical of her three seasons as Brodhead’s ace on the mound, Stampfli had another exceptional year in pitching the Cardinals to their eighth conference championship in Steve Krupke’s 11 years as head coach. A highlight of her year was pitching a one-hitter in a 4-2 win over Edgerton in the division champions’ only meeting of the conference season.

“She had as good of stuff that day as I’ve ever seen her have,” Krupke said.

Stampfi also had a stellar performance in a 2-1 sectional semifinal loss to top-ranked Poynette. The Pumas broke a 1-1 tie in the seventh and went on to win the Division 3 state championship.

After also throwing two no-hitters, Stampfli finished with a 19-4 season record. She averaged 14 strikeouts a game and had 294 in 143 innings.

Tia Collins was the catcher for many of Stampfli’s big games. The UW-Green Bay recruit also played second base and represents Brodhead on the South’s first team for the third straight year, this time as a designated player.

Zoe Hale, Beloit’s Turner’s senior catcher, is another third-time selection for the South’s first team. The South’s other first-team repeaters from last season are Orfordville Parkview junior pitcher Rhianna Noble, Parkview junior infielder Hayley Jordan, Brodhead senior infielder Mariah Mohns, Brodhead sophomore infielder Amanda Pickel and Clinton senior designated player Kaitlin Brandl.

Bob Sulser is the South’s Coach of the Year after directing Turner to a second-place tie.

Along with Schmidt, Edgerton third baseman Anne Tronnes and East Troy senior outfielder Katie Ledwell are third-time selections for the North’s first team. Tronnes hit .301 this season and drove in 22 runs after being the division’s Player of the Year last spring.

McFarland sophomore outfielder Lauren Frazier is the North’s only other first-team repeater from a year ago.

Edgerton’s six-player domination of the North’s first team extends to senior second baseman Molly McCall, junior outfielder Morgan McCue, senior pitcher Tia Cleveland and junior pitcher Carlie Schmeling.

McCue had a .403 batting average for her team’s 25 games, and McCall hit .344, while matching Schmidt with 20 RBIs. Cleveland had a 14-2 record and 1.58 earned run average, and Schmeling went 8-1 with a 0.71 ERA, highlighted by a nonconference no-hitter against Badger South champion Fort Atkinson.

Last updated: 5:36 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print