Milton duo All-Badger South

Print Print
Gazette staff
Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Youth was served this season in Badger South Conference baseball.

Of the 11 players on the all-conference first team, six were underclassmen. Milton High School juniors Sam McCann and Dane Burman were among those on the first team.

McCann, a hard-throwing righthander, finished with a

4-3 record with a 3.31 ERA. He averaged more than 11 strikeouts a game and helped lead the Red Hawks (7-5) to a second-place finish in the Badger South.

“Sam’s a big, strong kid that was overpowering, at times,” said Milton’s Steve Heilman, who recently resigned after nine years as head coach. “When he has command of all of his pitches, he’s awfully tough to beat.”

Burman caught for the Red Hawks and was the team’s top run-producer. He hit .371, including two home runs, and had 13 RBIs during the conference season.

“Dane’s a very good defensive catcher to go along with being a solid hitter,” Heilman said. “We also used him to pitch, and with both he and Sam coming back next year, that’s a very good 1-2 punch on the mound.”

Fort Atkinson senior infielder Mike Knutson was also named to the first team.

All-Badger South


Pitchers: Sam McCann, jr., Milton; Mike Pleimling, jr., Edgewood.

Catcher: Dane Burman, jr., Milton.

Infielders: Mike Knutson, sr., Fort Atkinson; Zach Zweifel, sr., Monona Grove; Ryan Nyhagen, sr., Stoughton; Jack Reiland, jr., Edgewood.

Outfielders: Jake Gundlach, jr., Oregon; Paul Mutch, soph., Edgewood; Graham Schroeder-Gasser, sr., Monona Grove.

DH/Utility: Bobby Blakeley, sr., Monona Grove.


Pitchers: Rory Menzer, sr., Stoughton; Logan Wells, sr., Monroe.

Catcher: Ben Young, jr., Edgewood.

Infielders: Brooks McMahon, sr., Oregon; Kody Parman, sr., Edgewood; Kramer Henning, sr., Monroe; Bryan Earleywine, sr., Monona Grove.

Outfielders: Jon Haas, sr., Milton; Kevin Cobb, sr., Edgewood; Chris Anderson, sr., Edgewood; Drew Nafzger, sr., Monroe.

DH/Utility: Austin Burandt, jr., Monroe.


Edgewood—Jack Zwettler, jr.; Fort Atkinson, Brennan Walker, sr.; Riley Cashin, sr.; Milton—Adam Catacutan, soph.; Andy Haney, soph.; Monona Grove—Caleb Choate, jr.; Monroe—Mitchell Marty, sr.; Dylan Schwitz, sr.; Dylan Cleavland, sr.; Oregon—Jake Engelhart, sr.; Ian Galloway, jr.; Brady Turk, sr.; Stoughton—Brett Quale, sr.; Ben Cleveland, sr.; Bryan Wendt, sr.; Ryan Moe, sr.


Madison Edgewood, 8-4; Monona Grove, 7-5; Monroe, 7-5; Milton, 7-5; Oregon, 5-7; Fort Atkinson , 5-7; Stoughton, 3-9.

All-Southern Lakes

Seniors dominate the All-Southern Lakes Conference first-team selections, and no one was more dominant this past season than Wilmot pitcher Brendon Hayden.

Hayden, a senior and 36th-round draft pick of the Philadelphia Phillies, is the Player of the Year and one of nine seniors on the 10-player first team.

Burlington outfielder Zack Burkowski, a junior, is the only underclassmen on the first team.

All-Southern Lakes


Pitchers: Brendon Hayden, sr., Wilmot; Joe Bianchi, sr., Union Grove.

Catcher: Joe Balestreri, sr., Union Grove.

Infielders: Zach Forray, sr., Waterford; Joe Sturino, sr., Waterford; Joey Hodkiwicz, sr., Burlington; Brennan Johnson, sr., Union Grove.

Outfielders: Dylan Dessart, sr., Waterford; Alex Hallenbeck, sr., Burlington; Zach Burkowski, jr., Burlington.


Pitcher: Cody Webb, sr., Burlington.

Catcher: Justin Reichwein, sr., Wilmot.

Infielders: Austin Damaschke, sr., Westosha; Blake John, sr., Burlington; Mason Filz, sr., Union Grove; Jared Zirbel, sr., Westosha.

Outfielders: Kyle Reitter, sr., Waterford; Ryan Storm, sr., Union Grove; Aaron Burd, sr., Burlington.

-- Player of the Year—Brendon Hayden, sr., Wilmot.


Badger—Colin Andersen, soph.; Mike McBride, sr.; Burlington—Trent Taylor, jr.; Delavan-Darien—Alex Limones, jr.; Elkhorn—Clayton Eastbrook, jr.; Union Grove—Taylor Meseberg, sr.; Waterford—Tanner Hunsacker, soph.; Westosha—Brian Kretschmer, sr.; Nick Poepping, sr.; Wilmot—Jay Christian, sr.; Dan Porteous, jr.; Ty Singleton, jr.


Union Grove, 12-2; Wilmot, 11-3; Burlington, 10-4; Westosha Central, 8-6; Waterford, 8-6; Elkhorn, 4-10; Lake Geneva Badger, 2-12; Delavan-Darien, 1-13.

All-Trailways South


Pitchers: Justin Walling, jr., Johnson Creek; Chris Wolf, sr., Johnson Creek; Nick Saunders, sr., Deerfield.

Catchers: Skyler Schlefke, sr., Deerfield; Joey Frea, sr., Rio; Kyle Marks, jr., Fall River.

Infielders: Wes Halverson, sr., Deerfield; Nate Schmidt, jr., Pardeeville; Deon Robbins, sr., Fall River; Ty Kearney, sr., Rio.

Outfielders: Dakotah Kirchenwitz, sr., Pardeeville; Ben Hildebrandt, soph., Deerfield; Zach Weihert, sr., Pardeeville.

Utility: Brennan Kearney, soph., Rio.


Pitcher: Tyler Griepentrog, fr., Pardeeville.

Infielders: Eric Curtis, jr., Pardeeville; Ruger Roehl, jr., Johnson Creek; Tyler Coffey, jr., Deerfield; Kevin Firari, jr., Hustisford.

Outfielders: T.J. Doherty, sr., Johnson Creek; Zach Pernat, sr., Johnson Creek; Dexter Oelke, sr., Fall River; Jon Fude, soph., Hustisford.

Utility: Dany Strause, sr., Rio.

-- Player of the Year—Nate Schmidt, jr., Pardeeville.


Pardeeville, 10-2; Johnson Creek, 10-2; Deerfield, 9-3; Rio, 6-6; Fall River, 4-8; Williams Bay, 2-10; Dodgeland/Hustisford, 1-11.

All-Capitol North


Pitchers: Donnie Manke, soph., Lodi; Fred Manke, fr., Lodi; Andrew Nemmers, sr., Luther Prep.

Catcher: Connor Vredeveld, sr., Lakeside.

Infielders: Joe Halley, sr., Lodi; Brandon Hildebrandt, sr., Luther Prep; Tyler Doyle, jr., Lakeside; Bryant Baker, sr., Columbus.

Outfielders: Justin Miller, sr., Lodi; Nick Deedon, sr., Lodi; D.J. Devlin, sr., Lakes Mills.

Utility: Ryan Dauman, jr., Columbus.


Pitchers: Kyle Loppnow, sr., Lakeside; Kellen Murphy, soph., Lake Mills.

Catcher: Ty Vick, jr., Columbus.

Infielders: Bryce Ziegler, jr., Lodi; Aaron Roeseler, sr., Luther Prep; Taylor Jansen, soph., Columbus; Adam Ray, sr., Poynette.

Outfielders: Luke Rothe, jr., Luther Prep; Jake Jarnigo, sr., Lakeside; Matt Lange, sr., Columbus.

Utility: Riley Putney, sr., Poynette.

-- Player of the Year—Joe Halley, sr., Lodi.


Lakeside—Aaron Allister, sr.; Jared Pfeifer, jr.; Luther Prep—Jason Lindemann, soph.; Dan Rodewald, sr.; Poynette—John Gundlach, sr.


Lodi, 15-1; Watertown Luther Prep, 12-4; Lakeside Lutheran, 12-4; Columbus, 8-8; Poynette, 5-11; Lake Mills, 2-14.

Last updated: 5:39 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print