Craig grad Lemirande on Janesville Jet’s team

Print Print
Gazette staff
Wednesday, July 13, 2011
— The Janesville Jets retained 13 players from last season on their 2011-2012 roster that was released Tuesday by the North American Hockey League franchise.

Conor Lemirande, a Janesville Craig High School graduate, also made the 25-man roster. Lemirande played for the Madison Capitols last season.

“We could have had 19 (returning),” Jets coach Dane Litke said. “We were trying not to have too much turnover for next year.’’

The Jets were aiming to improve their players’ size.

“That’s why we took Conor Lemirande and Connor McBride,” Litke said. “They are both good size, and we were looking to improve in that area.’’

Litke also is hoping the Jets can create more offense this season.

“We only scored 170 goals last year,” Litke said. “We didn’t have that ‘wow’ factor in camp with skill guys, but we have guys that will play hard and win games.’’

Janesville opens the season facing Wenatchee in the first round of the eighth annual NAHL Showcase tournament Sept. 14-17 in Blaine, Minn. The Jets’ NAHL home opener is 7 p.m. Friday, Sept. 23 against Springfield in the Janesville Ice Skating Center.

The Jets have earned playoff berths in each their first two seasons. Litke expects Janesville to remain competitive in the new season.

“The goal is to get better,” he said. “We want to get past the first round of the playoffs.

“We’ve been to two playoffs and made some strides,” Litke said. “We have kids that hopefully will catch on and have veterans that will lead the way.’’

Returning Jets include goalie Tony Kujava, defensemen Will Preston, Jeff Pacinski, Alex Temby and Derek Knetter, forwards Connor McBride, Jordan Bancroft, Lenny Childs, Trevor Landgraf, John Olen, Chris Cattivera, Truman Landowski and Pijus Rulevicious.

The Jets’ 2011-12 roster:

Goalies—Tony Kujava, Logan Marks, Chris Truehl.

Defensemen—Will Preston, Jeff Paczinski, Derek Knetter, Culley McCloud, Bryan Kronberger, Zach Adams, Garrett Cecere, Taylor Davis, Alex Temby.

Forwards—Connor McBride, Lenny Childs, Trevor Landgraf, Jordan Bancroft, John Olen, Chris Cattivera, Truman Landowski, Pijus Rulevicious, Jack Storo, Jace Kusler, Conor Lemirande, Davis DeKorte, Connore Doren, Luke Karakas, Henry Berger.


Last updated: 5:54 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print