Leipold adds to honors

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Thursday, January 13, 2011
— UW-Whitewater football coach Lance Leipold has added a fourth national coach of the year honor to his collection.

The American Football Coaches Association gave Leipold its top coaching honor Tuesday. Leipold has also received 2010 Coach of Year honors from the Fieldturf company, American Football Monthly magazine and D3football.com.

Leipold coached Whitewater to a 15-0 record and the NCAA III championship, the school’s third in Leipold’s four years at Whitewater. Leipold extended the Warhawks’ string of Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference championships, NCAA III playoff berths, and NCAA III championship game appearances to six straight. In addition to the national titles in 2007, 2009 and 2010 under Leipold’s guidance, Whitewater also advanced to the Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl in 2008.

The 2010 season marked the ninth time in the 119-year school history that the football team has finished undefeated.

Leipold’s record is 57-3 overall (.950) and 27-1 in the WIAC (.964) through four years. The 2010 Warhawks extended Whitewater’s NCAA best, any division, win streak to 29 consecutive wins.

The Warhawks have also won 21 in a row at home, 17 in a row in the WIAC, 17 in a row against non-conference competition, and 10 straight in the NCAA III playoffs.

The AFCA Coach of the Year honor is bestowed by a vote of Division III coaches at the AFCA convention, which concludes today. The Fieldturf award is compiled by company representatives and is presented by Howie Long, and the American Football Monthly staff picks its award recipients.

Leipold has earned the AFCA Division III Coach of the Year Award and the Fieldturf Division III Coach of the Year honor three times (2007, 2009, 2010), and the D3football.com award all four years he has been at Whitewater.

Last updated: 4:05 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print