Cougar wrestlers win Craig Invitational

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Sunday, January 9, 2011
— Thanks to a dominating performance at the lower weights, Janesville Craig’s wrestling team won the Craig Invitational on Saturday.

The Cougars finished with 243.5 points and five champions, while Oregon was second with 225.5.

Craig High won titles at five of the first six weight classes.

Siven Furseth again led the way for the Cougars. The senior and defending Division 1 state champion at 130 pounds improved to 19-0 on the season by cruising to the 135-pound title. Furseth pinned both of his opponents in the first period, including Racine Case’s Tyler Hunter in the title bout.

Other individual champions for Craig were Anthony Skrede at 103; Jamie Kumlien at 19; Kyle Upmann at 125 and Chris Pierce at 130.

Brendan Neal (140) and Billy Engen (171) were champions for Orfordville Parkview.

Craig Invitational


Janesville Craig 243.5, Oregon 225.5, Beaver Dam 168, Orfordville Parkview 144, Turner 128, Racine Case 115, Cambridge 93.


103—Title: Anthony Skrede (JC) pinned Aaron Schultz (RC), :40; Third: Jeremy Jacobson (Cam) received bye.

112—Title: Max Andrews (Tur) dec. Kyle O`Brien (Ore), 5-3; Third: Colin Leu (JC) dec. Cody Heiar (BD), 4-2.

119—Title: Jamie Kumlien (JC) pinned Alex Hauri (OP), :58; Third: Alex Thairuammit (BD) pinned Sam Mosiman (Ore), :46.

125—Title: Kyle Upmann (JC) dec. Manny Chairez (RC), 6-5; Third: Dylan Lund (Cam) pinned Devon Biter (Ore), 1:36.

130—Title: Chris Pierce (JC) pinned Chad Walsh (Ore), 5:31; Third: Zach Sherrod (Tur) dec. Nick Cawkins (OP), 5-1.

135—Title: Siven Furseth (JC) pinned Tyler Hunter (RC), :59; Third: Kevin Schewe (Ore) pinned Cody Trezek (OP), 3:46.

140—Title: Brendan Neal (OP) dec. Zach Mulrooney (JC), 5-0; Third: William Frauchiger (Ore) pinned Nate Nelson (BD), 2:52.

145—Title: Austin Andrews (Tur) pinned Alec Nummela (RC), 3:13; Third: Chris Kubiak (JC) pinned Andrew Nyenhuis (Ore), :35.

152—Title: Kyle Allen (Tur) major dec. over Teddy Callow (RC), 10-2; Third: Derek Gerber (OP) pinned Jack Hagstrom (Ore), 5:28.

160—Title: Eric Walsh (Ore) tech. fall over Jackson Bailey (BD), 15-0; Third: Ryan Triplett (OP) pinned Jake Jensen (Tur), 2:37.

171—Title: Billy Engen (OP) dec. Chris Hans (Ore), 12-8; Third: Nate Mathers (JC) pinned Brock Woodman (Tur), 1:47.

189—Title: Kail McCormack (BD) major dec. over Brian Uphoff (Ore), 11-2; Third: Zak Kurtz (JC) pinned Jack Nett (Cam), 2:46.

215—Title: Max Sampson (Ore) pinned Jake Somers (Tur), 1:25; Third: Dan Martinez (BD) pinned Drew Grassi (JC), 1:20.

285—Title: Riley Budde (BD) pinned Dakota Pearson (JC), 1:37; Third: Jake Kluever (Ore) pinned Brandon New (Cam), :37.

Last updated: 4:08 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print