Janesville wrestlers win

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Saturday, January 8, 2011

Adam Cavey and Brennan Casey-Schmidt earned pins in less than a minute to key a strong start as the Janesville Parker High wrestling team easily defeated visiting Madison La Follette, 56-18, Friday night.

The Vikings jumped to a

36-0 lead in the Big Eight Conference match. Dai-Von Vance-Jenkins, Matt Pakes and Josh Poznanski also recorded pins in the opening stretch.

Yoiser Mauleion, Reynaldo Bautista and Cody Colson also had pins for the Vikings.


103—Pedro Silver (L) dec. Haley Hedgecock, 5-0; 112—Chad Thurs (P) tech. fall over Jermaine Coleman, 16-0; 119—Dai-Von Vance-Jenkins (P) pinned Yiagtxias Thao, 2:44; 125—Adam Cavey (P) pinned AJ Verhage, :41 130—Brennan Casey-Schmidt (P) pinned JJ Razafinanja, :46; 135—Matt Pakes (P) pinned Dylan Breunig, 4:25; 140—Josh Poznanski (P) pinned Alante Tornai, 1:56.

145—Jeremy Johnson (L) dec. Sean Smith, 9-7; 152—Luke Turner (P) dec. Ryan Fischer, 11-9; 160—Yoiser Mauleon (P) pinned Karl Knipp, 4:22; 171—Dante Schiro (L) pinned Marc Perkins, 1:22; 189—Spencer Lowery (L) pinned Brandon Fryda, 2:07; 215—Reynaldo Bautista (P) pinned Joey Foerster, 5:08; 285—Cody Colson (P) pinned Kwasi Asari, :43.

n Starting weight—112.

n Craig 39, Verona 34—The Cougars wiggled past the Wildcats to improve to 3-0 in Big Eight wrestling.

“Verona surprised us a little,” said Craig coach Mark Mullin. “They were a little more aggressive than we expected. We have to step up in a few weight classes.’’

Verona lost two matches from 145 through 285. Craig’s Nate Mather won a 171 and Dakota Pearson won by forfeit at 285.

The Cougars host the Craig Invitational at 9:30 a.m. today.


103—Ben Hanson (JC) dec. Anthony Skrede, 11-0. 112—Colin Leu (JC) pinned Charley Dopf, 4:32. 119—Jaime Kumlien (JC) dec. Curtis Hagens, 16-5. 125—Kyler Upmann (JC) tech fall Dan Harper, 18-0. 130—Jacob Wilson (JC) pinned Mitch Rumarowi, :48. 135—Siven Furseth (JC) won by forfeit. 140—Brian Woods (V) pinned Zach Mulrooney, 5:20.

145—Colton Stettler (V) pinned Chris Kubiak, 1:44. 152—Devon Donies (V) pinned Alex Zimmerman, 1:54. 160—Roger Ropes (V) dec. Austin Clay, 8-6. 171—Nate Mather (JC) pinned Dan Whipperfurth, 1:08. 189—Mike McCarter (V) dec. Zak Kurtz, 13-9. 215—Mark Nyhus (V) pinned Drew Grassi, :42. 285—Dakota Pearson (JC) won by forfeit.

Last updated: 4:08 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print