Stricker earns media award

Print Print
Thursday, January 6, 2011

Steve Stricker has added another prestigious honor to his collection of professional golf accomplishments.

The Edgerton native was recognized this week by the Golf Writers Association of America as the recipient of the Jim Murray/ASP Sports Award, which honors players for their positive dealings with the media.

Stricker, 43, is ranked seventh in the world and is a nine-time PGA Tour winner in professional career that began in 1990. The two-time Comeback Player of the Year winner won the Northern Trust Open and John Deere Classic in 2010.

In winning this award, Stricker beat out Stewart Cink and Tom Lehman. Previous winners in the award’s 10-year history winner have included Jack Nicklaus, Arnold Palmer, Juli Inkster, Nancy Lopez, Nick Price, Fred Funk, Jay Haas, Gary Player and Padraig Harrington.

Last updated: 4:09 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print