Whitewater has two individual champions

Print Print
Monday, February 28, 2011
— UW-Whitewater produced two individual champions here Sunday as the Warhawks took second in the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference wrestling meet.

Whitewater’s Cade Sarbacker won the 157-pound title with a 14-5 major decision over UW-Stevens Point’s Ben Strobel. Adam Latella was victorious for the Warhawks at 197 pounds with a 3-2 decision over Stevens Point’s Chad Gregory.

UW-La Crosse captured its 14th straight team championship and 15th in history by scoring 132 points. Whitewater had 105.5 points, followed by Stevens Point with 103.

La Crosse claimed seven first-place individual medals. Bebeto Yewah was selected the John Peterson Wrestler of the Meet after beating Whitewater’s Dylan Schroeder by technical fall, 25-10, to win the 141-pound title.

Matt Mauseth of the Eagles won his fourth consecutive 149-pound championships with an 8-4 decision over Stevens Point’s Kris Magruder, while Albie McKinney of La Crosse captured his third straight title at 125 pounds.

Mike Schmitz of La Crosse also became a three-time champion at 174 pounds with a 12-3 major decision over Whitewater’s Reid Dickerson.

WIAC wrestling

At Platteville


La Crosse 132, Whitewater 105.5, Stevens Point 103, Oshkosh 85, Platteville 82, Eau Claire 51.5


125—Albie McKinney (L) major dec. over Carl DeLuca (O), 11-2.

133—Adam Sheley (L) dec. Jake Fredricksen (W), 4-2

141—Bebeto Yewah (L) tech. fall over Dylan Schroeder (W), 25-10 (5:14)

149—Matt Mauseth (L) dec. Kris Magruder (SP), 8-4

157—Cade Sarbacker (W) major dec. over Ben Strobel (SP), 14-5

165—Cory Ferguson (L) dec. Jordan Schulte (SP), 6-3

174—Mike Schmitz (L) major dec. over Reid Dickerson (W), 12-3

184—Ben Engelland (SP) dec. Sam Engelland (O), 4-2

197—Adam Latella (W) dec. Chad Gregory (SP), 3-2

285—Billy Mayer (L) dec. James Zarate (W), 6-0

John Peterson Wrestler of the Meet: Bebeto Yewah, La Crosse.

Mertz Mortorelli Coach of the Year: Dave Malecek, La Crosse.

Max Sparger Scholar-Athlete: Matt Mauseth, La Crosse.

Last updated: 4:12 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print