Furseth earns state berth

Print Print
Sunday, February 20, 2011
— Division 1 sectional wrestling here Saturday served as an appetizer for Janesville Craig’s Siven Furseth and Milton’s Ian Johnson.

The main course begins Thursday in the WIAA individual state meet at the Kohl Center in Madison.

Furseth, the defending state champion at 130 pounds, and Johnson, the runner-up at 160 last year, cruised to sectional titles in the Janesville Craig Sectional.

Also advancing to the state meet is sectional champion Garrett Whitehead of Milton at 130, along with teammates John Wells at 112 and Landon Shea at 119. Craig’s Chris Pierce finished second at 130 to advance, as did Lake Geneva Badger’s John Leibforth at 140, Dylan Peter at 160, Ed Ruzga at 215 and Brad Nugent at 285.

Although pleased with getting through the sectional meet unscathed, Johnson has his sights on a bigger prize.

“Four more matches. That’s the way I’m looking at it right now,” Johnson said of needing four wins for a state title. “It’s one match at a time at state because anything can happen, but I know I need to win four more matches to win state.”

Johnson, a junior who improved to 33-4 for the season, decisioned longtime training partner Quinn Faust of Mount Horeb/Barneveld, 5-1, in the title bout.

Furseth (41-0) faced a familiar face in the 135-pound title bout. The Cougar senior controlled Muskego’s Tyler Quartullo, 3-0, in a match where Furseth was on the attack the entire match. Furseth beat Quartullo by the same 3-0 score earlier this season, and 3-2 in the state quarterfinals a year ago.

“It was a tough match because he was wrestling defen sively,” Furseth said of Quartullo. “I just wanted to do my own thing and hope everything worked out.

“I’m excited about going to state, and now I just have to work on that first match.”

Whitehead improved to 44-4 with an impressive 21-5 technical fall win over Chris Pierce in the 130-pound title match. The Milton junior took control of the match early and never let up.

“As soon as I got my second takedown, I knew I could let him up and keep taking him down again,” Whitehead said of Pierce. “I wanted to go out there and take some shots early and keep the pace going, and I was able to do that.

“I was disappointed in not making state last year, so this year I made sure I wrestled my best and didn’t do anything stupid.”

Wells, a junior and the defending state champion at 103 pounds, lost in the title bout at 112 to Kenosha Tremper’s Tyler Rice.

Shea also lost in the final’s at 119 by a score of 3-1 to Dominic Garcia of Tremper.

Janesville Parker’s Cody Colson finished third at 285, but was denied a wrestleback when top-seeded Nugent was beaten in the title bout. Nugent beat Colson, 6-2, in a semifinal bout. The Vikings’ Adam Cavey (125), Brennan Casey-Schmidt (130), Matt Pakes (135) and Yosier Mauleon (160) lost opening-round matches.

Craig’s Jamie Kumlien (119) and Kyle Upmann (125) finished third, and 285-pounder Dakota Pearson was fourth. The Cougars’ Anthony Skrede (103), Ryan Ruble (112), Jacob Wilson (140), Zach Mulrooney (145) and Zak Kurtz (171) lost first-round matches.

Janesville Craig



(Top two advance to state)

103—Title: Austin Quartullo (Muskego) pinned Ryan Crum (Mount Horeb-Barneveld), 1:50. Second-place wrestleback: Tim Cho (Westosha Central) major dec. over Crum (Mt. Horeb/Barneveld), 12-3.

112—Title: Tyler Rice (Kenosha Tremper) pinned John Wells (Milton), 4:28. Second-place wrestleback: Wells (Milton) dec. Tyler Sinda (Muskego), 6-0.

119—Title: Dominic Garcia (Kenosha Tremper) dec. Landon Shea (Milton), 3-1.

125—Title: Justin Scherkenbach (Muskego) tech. fall over Nick Urso (Stoughton), 21-6. Second-place wrestleback: Urso (Stoughton) pinned Kyle Upmann (Janesville Craig), 3:31.

130—Title: Garrett Whitehead (Milton) tech. fall over Chris Pierce (Janesville Craig), 21-5. Second-place wrestleback: Pierce (Janesville Craig) dec. Scott Dingee (Westosha Central), 5-2.

135—Title: Siven Furseth (Janesville Craig) dec. Tyler Quartullo (Muskego), 3-0. Second-place wrestleback: Quartullo (Muskego) dec. Cody Greene-Powell (Tremper), 4-1.

140—Title: Adam Neal (Wilmot) dec. John Leibforth (Badger) , 4-0.

145—Title: Ryan Gartner (Wilmot) dec. Levi Horton (Kenosha Tremper), 5-1. Second-place wrestleback: Horton (Kenosha Tremper) major dec. over Devan Daniels (Verona), 14-1.

152—Title: Matthew Gray (Wilmot) dec. Jack Williford (Stoughton), 11-7.

160—Title: Eric Walsh (Oregon) dec. Dylan Peter (Badger), 4-1. Second-place wrestleback: Peter (Badger) dec. Avery Sweeney (Milton), 7-3.

171—Title: Ian Johnson (Milton) dec. Quinn Faust (Mt. Horeb/Barneveld), 5-1; Second-place wrestleback: Faust (Mt. Horeb/Barneveld) dec. Dante Schiro (Madison La Follette), 12-5.

189—Title: Roland Dunlap (Muskego) major dec. over Branden Allen (Badger), 18-8; Third: Dillon Dewey (Stoughton) pinned Allen (Badger), 4:15.

215—Title: Jordan Gruettner (Muskego) major dec. over Brian Steinbrink (Kenosha Tremper), 13-4; Second-place wrestleback: Ed Ruzga (Badger) pinned Brian Steinbrink (Kenosha Tremper), 2:47.

285—Title: Jessie Nelson (Stoughton) dec. Brad Nugent (Badger), 3-2.

Clinton's Banh, Elkhorn's Stilling lead list of area state qualifiers

Gazette Staff

A number of area wrestlers punched their ticket Saturday to next week's WIAA State Tournament.

Heading the list is Clinton's Daniel Banh and Elkhorn's Jake Stilling, who both won Division 2 sectional titles.

Banh, the Division 2 runner-up a year ago at 112, won the Evansville Sectional title at 112 to push his season record to

38-3. Clinton's Dane Brandl finished second at 160 to also advance.

Additional state qualifiers from the Evansville Sectional were Brodhead/Juda's Hunter Colden (second) at 152, Turner's Austin Andrews (third) at 145 and Edgerton's Adam Carlson, who was second at 215.

Host Evansville/Albany advanced two wrestlers as JJ. Boley was second at 119 and Tom Bjugstad was second at 145.

At the Division 2 Milwaukee Lutheran Sectional, Delavan-Darien advanced four wrestlers to state. Kyndle Bennett won the 152-pound title, while his brother, Kiefer, was second at 145. Marcus Hudson gave the Comets a third qualifier with a second-place finish at 171, and Jeff Myers was second at 130.

Whitewater's Nick Romani advanced by finishing second at 189 at Milwaukee Lutheran, while Walworth Big Foot's Garrett Cary was second at 285.

In Division 1 at Fort Atkinson, the host Blackhawks had three individuals qualify thanks to Brett Bowar winning the 112-pound title, Cody Foerster finishing second at 140 and Cory Schuerman also finishing second at 130.

Elkhorn also fared well at Fort Atkinson. The Elks, led by Stilling's romp through the 160-pound class, will be represented by Taylor French at 135 and Connor Selvey at 285.

In Division 3 at the Westby Sectional, Orfordville Park-view's Justin Graham finished third at 189 to advance.

The WIAA state tournament begins Thursday at the Kohl Center in Madison.

Last updated: 4:16 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print