Gazette wins several awards in annual WNA newspaper contest

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Wednesday, February 16, 2011

The Gazette's news staff won six first places and 18 total awards in the Wisconsin Newspaper Association's 2010 Better Newspaper Contest.

The awards were presented at WNA's annual conference in Appleton last weekend.

Meanwhile, the Gazette's advertising staff earned six firsts and 16 total awards.

The Gazette competes with about a dozen daily newspapers with circulations between 15,000 and 25,000.


Winners from the Gazette newsroom:

-- First—John Barry; sports feature; "Carry on, son."

-- First—Marcia Nelesen; environmental reporting; "Super soil."

-- First—Gina Duwe; local education reporting; three stories.

-- First—Ted Sullivan; investigative reporting; three stories.

-- First—Ted Sullivan, Kyle Geissler, Dave von Falkenstein and Jonathan Lindquist; continuing Web coverage; "The trial of James Koepp."

-- First—Staff; best special section; Summer Source.

-- Second—Greg Peck; editorial pages.

-- Second—Ken Veloskey; local column; Time Out.

-- Second—Ann Marie Lux; local outdoor column; Between the Lines.

-- Second—Marcia Nelesen; enterprise/interpretive reporting; "Super soil."

-- Second—Jim Leute; business coverage; "General Motors retirees."

-- Second—Marcia Nelesen; feature; "It's really bad."

-- Second—Andrew Reuter; page design—feature; "Pony express."

-- Second—Ted Sullivan; local government reporting; three stories.

-- Second—Jonathan Lindquist, Dave von Falkenstein, Kyle Geissler; general Web excellence.

-- Third—Anna Marie Lux; local column; Between the Lines.

-- Third—Sports staff; sports pages.

-- Third—Dan Lassiter; feature photo; "Triple Whammy."


Winners from Gazette advertising:

-- First—Julie Daun, Donna Hanson; best use of color; Parade of Homes.

-- First—Dan Bothun, Donna Hanson: best use of local photography; Culver's.

-- First—Ad staff, creative staff; best niche publication-in paper; Home Show.

-- First—Lon Haenel, Sara Van Galder; best circulation promotion.

-- First—Gazlo sales team, Kacey Kaderly; online revenue builder; gazlo.com.

-- First—Jenny Neuville, Adam Zellmer; best online advertising, single ad—static; 50/50 Factory Outlet.

-- Second—Marci McCarten, Diane Braunreiter; best multiple advertiser spread; Scavenger Hunt.

-- Second—Marci McCarten, Donna Felland; best use of art service; Janesville Bar Association.

-- Second—Nina Perona, Terry Fleig; best use of local photography; Kids Hooked on Fishing.

-- Second—Ad staff, creative staff; best niche publication-out of paper; Parade of Homes.

-- Second—Marci McCarten, Donna Felland; online revenue builder; Downtown Bar Association.

-- Second—Marci McCarten, Adam Zellmer; best online advertising, single ad—static; Diamond Dave's.

-- Third—Dan Bothun, Donna Hanson; best advertising idea; Rollin' Pin Bakery.

-- Third—Dan Bothun, Donna Hanson; best use of art service; Rollin' Pin Bakery.

-- Third—Sales staff, Terry Fleig; best newspaper promotion; Taste of Home Cooking School.

-- Third—Trish Edwards, Adam Zellmer; best online advertising, single ad—static; American's Mattress.

Last updated: 4:18 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print