Make it four for Furseth

Print Print
Sunday, February 6, 2011
— Winning a conference title four times is a rare feat.

Siven Furseth is a rare athlete.

The Janesville Craig High School senior won his fourth Big Eight wrestling title here Saturday in leading the Cougars to a second-place finish at the conference tournament .

Defending tournament champion and 2011 dual meet champion Sun Prairie won the 10-team title with 241.5 points, followed by Craig with 232.5. Janesville Parker, the host school, was fifth with 158.5.

Craig had three other champions besides Furseth’s title at 140 pounds. Senior Jamie Kumlien won at 119, Chris Pierce was the champion at 130, and freshman Zach Mulrooney won at 145.

Parker’s lone champion was senior Cody Colson at 285.

Furseth, the defending Division 1 state champion at 130 pounds, improved to 35-0 on the season by coasting to another championship. He pinned Verona’s Colton Stetzer in 1:08 of the title match.

Furseth is the first Craig wrestler to win four conference titles since Braden Radunzel.

“I’m still going out there and taking it one match at a time,” Furseth said. “I’m not letting up on anybody because you just never know.

“Now, it comes down to continuing to drill every technique and move to make sure I’m up to date. I don’t plan on losing, but that doesn’t mean I’m not going to keep working hard.”

Kumlien (33-3) dominated Beloit Memorial’s Pierce Andrews in the 119-pound title bout. Kumlien jumped ahead early and coasted to an 8-2 win.

In the only title bout featuring two Janesville wrestlers, Pierce (33-3) held off Parker’s Brennan Casey-Schmidt, 9-8, at 130. Pierce, a senior, fell behind early but rallied with a reversal and takedown. Casey-Schmidt , a senior, was the defending conference champion.

Mulrooney upset top-seeded Devan Daniels of Verona to win the title at 145. After taking an early 2-0 lead with a takedown, Mulrooney caught Daniels with a perfectly executed half nelson and won by pin with a minute gone in the second period.

Colson (26-7) picked up Parker’s only individual title by pinning his way to the 285 championship. He capped off an unbeaten conference season (12-0) by pinning all three of his opponents Saturday, including a first-period fall over Madison West’s Aidan McNamara in the title bout.

“I didn’t want to waste any time because doing that gives your opponents too many opportunities,” Colson said. “I pinned him (McNamara) earlier this season and wanted to go out and take charge right away again today. “I’m happy with the way I’m wrestling heading into the tournament, but I also know there are parts of my game that I can always work on.”

Big Eight

At Janesville Parker TEAM SCORES Sun Prairie 241.5, Janesville Craig 232.5, Middleton 209, Beloit Memorial 161, Janesville Parker 158.5, Madison West 144, Verona 139.5, Madison La Follette 93, Madison East 59.5, Madison Memorial 43.5. INDIVIDUAL RESULTS 103—Title: Ben Hansen (V) dec. Anthony Skrede (JC), 10-3. Third: Chase Marty (Mid) pinned Pedro Silver (ML), 4:02. 112—Title: Hayden Scharmer (BM) dec. Ryan Ruble (JC), 11-7. Third: Darnell Richmond (MM) dec. Danny Roudebush (Mid), 4-3. 119—Title: Jamie Kumlien (JC) dec. Pierce Andrews (BM), 8-2. Third: Curtis Hagens (V) dec. Abner Jacobson (ME), 9-6. 125—Title: Jake Cain (Mid) major dec. over Kyle Upmann (JC), 10-2. Third: Adam Cavey (JP) tech. fall over Libasse Sarr (ME), 15-0. 130—Title: Chris Pierce (JC) dec. Brennan Casey-Schmidt (JP), 9-8. Third: Jason Bussler (SP) major dec. over Andrew Olson (MW), 10-2. 135—Title: Jared Scharenbrock (SP) pinned Brian Woods (V), 5:09. Third: Grant Laurent (Mid) dec. Jacob Wilson (JC), 13-2. 140—Title: Siven Furseth (JC) pinned Colton Stetzer (V), 1:08. Third: Dong Yao Sun (MW) pinned Alex Levy (ME), 5:28. 145—Title: Zack Mulrooney (JC) pinned Devan Daniels (V), 3:00. Third: Josef Hartzel (BM) major dec. over Wesley Schultz (SP), 19-11. 152—Title: Nick Annin (MW) dec. Dustin Carratt (BM), 7-4. Third: Forrest Hawkinson (SP) major dec. over Brett Dresen (Mid), 14-5. 160—Title: Collin Enstad (SP) pinned Yoiser Mauleon (JP), 1:55. Third: Kurt Lindeman (Mid) pinned John Goelzer (MW), 2:59. 171—Title: Dakota Hensler (SP) dec. Dante Schiro (ML), 7-5. Third: Zak Kurtz (JC) won by injury default over Sean Dunn (ME). 189—Title: Cedric Hooser (SP) pinned Sam Lipton (MW), 2:35. Third: Spencer Lowery (ML) major dec. over Torin Mann (Mid), 8-0. 215—Title: David Presser (SP) dec. Julius Hill(MW), 7-3. Third: Terrell Swinney (Mid) dec. Christian Murrillo (BM), 16-11. 285—Title: Cody Colson (JP) pinned Aidan McNamara (MW), 1:54. Third: Evan Broyles (SP) dec. Zach Swingen (Mid), 15-8.

Last updated: 4:24 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print