Elkhorn wins Southern Lakes wrestling meet

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Sunday, February 6, 2011
— Southern Lakes wrestling coaches predicted an up-for-grabs conference meet, and that’s just what they received Saturday at Delavan-Darien High School.

Elkhorn wiggled out of the tight pile with a narrow 200-196 victory over Burlington for the meet title. Third-place Delavan-Darien finished two points behind Burlington and six behind the Elks.

Elkhorn and Burlington share the season championship. If Delavan-Darien had managed one more individual victory in the conference meet, it would have had to face Lake Geneva Badger in a makeup dual for a chance to share season title.

Burlington finished 6-1 in the dual season, followed by Delavan-Darien at 5-1 and Elkhorn at 5-2.

The Elks earned four individual championships, a runner-up and a pair of thirds in Saturday’s competition. Burlington had two titles, four runners-up and a third place.

In winning the conference meet and sharing the season title, it was a special day for Elkhorn coach Ken Reynolds.

“The last time Elkhorn won the conference title was in 1980 when I was a senior,” Reynolds said. “Today was a terrific day for the team and the program.’’

Reynolds said that, while the Elks won four individual championships, it was victories for fifth and third place that made the difference.

“We won nine of the last 11 matches,” he said. “This was a team victory. It was just not a one-man show.’’

For Elkhorn, Ryan Nelson won the 103-pound title with a 3-2 decision over Westosha Central’s Tim Cho. Taylor French registered a pin for the 130-pound title. Jake Stilling won by decision over Lake Geneva Badger’s defending champion, Dylan Peters, for the 160 title, and Dakota Johnson won at 189.

Marcus Hudson won Delavan-Darien’s lone title with a forfeit victory over Wilmot’s defending champion, James Huey, at 171.

Delavan-Darien’s Kiefer Bennett and Kyndle Bennett each lost title bouts to Wilmot’s defending champs, Ryan Gartner and Matthew Gray, at 145 and 152, respectively. The Comets’ Lukas Dittner, last season’s 125-pound champ, lost the 135 title bout, 8-4, to last season’s 130-pound champ, Adam Neal of Wilmot.

“I knew we were going to have our kids against the best kids in the conference, and that’s what happened,” Delavan-Darien coach Craig Lodahl said. “We had just one victory in the finals, and I knew we were in trouble.’’

Southern Lakes

At Delavan-Darien


Elkhorn 200, Burlington 196, Delavan-Darien 194, Wilmot 182, Lake Geneva Badger 169, Westosha Central 97.5, Waterford 79.5, Union Grove 43.


103—Title: Ryan Nelson (Elk) dec. Tim Cho (WC), 3-2. Third: Kody Zembal (Wil) dec. Austin Schwarz (DD), 5-1.

112—Title: Matt Ehlen (Bur) dec. Cody Chelminiak (DD), 11-6. Third: Michael Coyne (LGB) won by injury default over Nick Beyer (Wil).

119—Title: Derek Gill (Bur) dec. Kody Azarian (Wat), 6-2. Third: Jacob Debrabander (UG) pinned Ian Biggs (WC), 5:52.

125—Title: Austin Christenson (Wat) dec. Brody Fitzpatrick (Bur), 1-0. Third: Zach Lazzeroni (DD) major dec. over Jon Rogalski (Wil), 18-9.

130—Title: Taylor French (Elk) pinned Kyle Severt (Wil), 5:07. Third: Jeff Myers (DD) dec. Scott Dingee (WC), 8-7.

135—Title: Adam Neal (Wil) dec. Lukus Dittner (DD), 8-4. Third: Randy Shine (LGB) major dec. over Cody Nannemann (Wat), 10-1.

140—Title: John Leibforth (LGB) dec. Willie Ehlen (Bur), 7-5. Third: Kyle Mountford (Elk) dec. Martin Figueroa (DD), 5-0.

145—Title: Ryan Gartner (Wil) dec. Kiefer Bennett (DD), 7-3. Third: Mike Ezelle (LGB) dec. Devin Kinney (Elk), 6-0.

152—Title: Matthew Gray (Wil) dec. Kyndle Bennett (DD), 4-2. Third: Clayton Bray (Elk) dec. Rory Shine (LGB), 3-1.

160—Title: Jake Stilling (Elk) dec. Dylan Peter (LGB), 4-2. Third: Diego Avila (DD) pinned Matt Thomas (WC), 1:23.

171—Title: Marcus Hudson (DD) won by forfeit over James Huey (Wil). Third: Rory Johnson (Elk) dec. Ryan Jazdzewski (Bur), 8-4.

189—Title: Dakota Johnson (Elk) dec. Zak Verbunker (Bur), 7-1. Third: Austin Vanderhoof (Wil) dec. Branden Allen (LGB), 4-3.

215—Title: Ed Ruzga (LGB) dec. Tyler Vorpahl (Bur)l 4-1. Third: Brenden Mogensen (Elk) major dec. over Heath Gascoigne (Wil)l 10-0.

285—Title: Brad Nugent (LGB) dec. Connor Selvey (Elk), 9-3. Third: Neal Miller (Bur) pinned Logan Keena (WC), 2:38.

Last updated: 4:24 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print