Southern Lakes steals the show at Mid-States wrestling tourney

Print Print
Gazette staff
Friday, December 30, 2011

The Southern Lakes Conference dominated the two-day Mid-States wrestling tournament held on the campus of UW-Whitewater.

Elkhorn, behind individual champions Jake Stilling at 170 pounds and Dakota Johnson at 220, finished seventh in the star-studded field. Southern Lakes rival Burlington won the 42-team tournament with 193.5 points, while Delavan-Darien was eighth with 130. The Comets' Marcus Hudson won the title at 182.

East Troy's Joey Dedick was the champion at 195.

Delavan-Darien got third-place finishes from Kyndle Bennett at 152 and Lukus Dittner at 138.

Orfordville Parkview's Justin Graham was fourth at 182, and Elkhorn's Connor Selvey was fourth at 285. Fort Atkinson's Nicholas Achilli was fourth at 160.

Janesville Parker finished with 24 points and did not have an individual finish in the top eight.

Mid-States Invitational

At UW-Whitewater


Burlington 193.5, Mukwonago 168, Iowa-Grant 161.5, New Trier (Ill.) 156, Wrightstown 144.5, Kenosha Tremper 141, Elkhorn 135.5, Delavan-Darien 130, Harvard 128.5, Pulaski 120.5, Belvedere North (Ill.) 94.5, Vernon Hills 94.5, Fort Atkinson 90, Wausau East 89, Oconomowoc 74, Sun Prairie 73, Freeport (Ill.) 71, Ozaukee 68, Whitewater 65, Oregon (Ill.) 63, East Troy 61.5, Oregon 56, Nicolet 53, Kettle Moraine 52, Watertown 52, Orfordville Parkview 46, Milwaukee Riverside 45, Sheboygan South 43, Brookwood 41, Reedsburg 39.5, West Bend East 39.5, Marquette 39, Cedar Grove-Belgium 33, Chicago Mather 29, Clinton 25, Janesville Parker 24, Pecatonica 23, Beloit Turner 22, Lake Mills 22, Belleville 14, Jefferson 14, Maine East (Ill.) 12.


106—Title: Ricardo Roman (Belvedere North) dec. Cole Large (Ozaukee), 2-0; Third: Colin Kenyon (New Trier) pinned Ben Hornickle (Burlington), 2:32.

113—Title: Jared Nichols (Kenosha Tremper) dec. Nick Diny (Wausau East), 5-4; Third: Jake Vadnais (Mukwonago) dec. Josh Marten (Brookwood), 13-3.

120—Title: Tyler Rice (Kenosha Tremper) dec. Chris Alcock (New Trier ), 7-1; Third: Logan Mills (Iowa-Grant) dec. Greg Adkins (Belvedere North), 4-2.

126—Title: Dominic Garcia (Kenosha Tremper) major dec. over Brett Buechler (Wrightstown), 10-2; Third: Derek Gill (Burlington) dec. Gabriel Grahek (Marquette), 4-3 (OT).

132—Title: Kasey Caelwaerts (Pulaski) dec. Alex Maes (Wrightstown), 3-2; Third: Matt Ehlen (Burlington) dec. Barrett Rehm (Watertown), 8-1.

138—Title: Brody Fitzpatrick (Burlington) tech. fall over Eric Lease (Oconomowoc), 16-1; Third: Lukus Dittner (Delavan-Darien) major dec. over Jake Schmidt (Wrightstown), 10-2.

145—Title: Jared Scharenbrock (Sun Prairie) dec. Joe Mattson (Mukwonago), 11-6; Third: Willie Ehlen (Burlington) major dec. over Jacob Yelinek (Iowa-Grant), 12-0.

152—Title: Brandt Gavin (Burlington) dec. Branden Capetillo (Sheboygan South), 2-1; Third: Kyndle Bennett (Delavan-Darien) dec. Jack Conner (New Trier), 7-4.

160—Title: Jackson Fox (Wrightstown) dec. Brandon Sklavanitis (Oregon, Ill.)), 7-2; Third: Colin Enstad (Sun Prairie) dec. Nicholas Achilli (Fort Atkinson), 6-2.

170—Title: Jake Stilling (Elkhorn) dec. Eric Walsh (Oregon), 7-5; Third-place: Dan Stott (Harvard) dec. Ryan Jazdzewski (Burlington), 7-0.

182—Title: Marcus Hudson (Delavan-Darien) dec. Blake Welu (Iowa-Grant), 7-5 (OT); Third: Scott Schwartz (New Trier) tech. fall over Justin Graham (Orfordville), 18-2.

195—Title: Joey Dedick (East Troy) major dec. over Armond Hollins (Freeport), 18-6; Third: Cody Melson (Harvard) pinned Ben Leuzinger (Kettle Moraine), 4:07.

220—Title: Dakota Johnson (Elkhorn) dec. Luke Belich (Mukwonago), 10-3; Third: Jon McKay (Nicolet) pinned John Benson (New Trier), 2:50.

285—Title: Jeremy Brazil (Vernon Hills) pinned Michael Mohr (Oconomowoc), :44; Third: Tyler Ladwig (Mukwonago) dec. Connor Selvey (Elkhorn), 3-0.

Last updated: 7:01 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print