Janesville Cougar wrestlers rule vs. Spartans, Parker loses

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Friday, December 9, 2011

Janesville Craig cruised in its Big Eight Conference wrestling opener Thursday, defeating visiting Madison Memorial, 75-6.

The Cougars (2-4 overall) were aided by seven victories by forfeit against the Spartans.

At 132 pounds, Craig’s Kyle LeCaptain won his first varsity match with a 4-3 victory over John Morrison. The Cougars’ Jay Oren, at 182, also earned his first varsity win when he pinned Jake Greico in 1:22.

Craig’s Jacob Wilson (138), Alex Zimmerman (145), Nate Mather (170) and Zak Kurtz (195) also won by pin.

“We wrestled very aggressively,” said Craig coach Mark Mullen. “It was exciting for us to get our first conference win of the year.”

Craig next competes Tuesday at Middleton.


106—Eric Furseth (C) won by forfeit; 113—Aaron Wehrwein (C ) won by forfeit; 120—Ryan Ruble (C) won by forfeit; 126—Anthony Skrede (C) won by forfeit; 132—Kyle LeCaptain (C) def. John Morrison, 4-3.

138—Jacob Wilson (C) pinned Jesus Rojas, 1:03; 145—Alex Zimmerman (C) pinned Rykr Humphrey, 4:50; 152—Zack Mulrooney (C) won by forfeit; 160—Jeremy Gartland (MM) pinned Aaron Maresch, 2:47; 170—Nate Mather (C) pinned Ryley Gaulocher, 1:38.

182—Jay Oren (C) pinned Jake Greico, 1:22; 195—Zak Kurtz (C) pinned Edgar Lopez, 1:58; 220—Drew Grassi (C) won by forfeit; 285—Dakota Pearson (C) won by forfeit.

Whippets down Vikings

Whitewater defeated Janesville Parker, 40-30, in a nonconference match in the Whippets’ gym.

The Vikings received pins from Gage Burdick (106), Dylan Siener (113), Matt Pakes (152) and Scott VanDerHagen (220). The Whippets built up a 40-18 lead before the pins by Burdick and Siener to conclude the match.

Parker returns to Big Eight Conference action tonight when it hosts Beloit Memorial. The Vikings then will participate in the Edgerton Duals on Saturday.


106—Gage Burdick (JP) pinned Irving Sedano, 3:01. 113—Dylan Siener (JP) pinned Osvaldo Serna, 3:27. 120—Jake Kanack (W) won by forfeit. 126—Nathan Wright (W) major dec. Mitchel Henneman, 15-4. 132—Jose Ramirez (W) pinned Dai-Von Vance-Jenkins, 2:45. 138—Scott Zahn (W) dec. Julio Sanchez, 6-2. 145—Steven Sobolewski (W) pinned Austin Kessler, 3:24.

152—Matt Pakes (JP) pinned Tim Boyer, 4:41. 160—Sean Smith (JP) dec. Thomas Hernandez, 13-11. 170—Matthew Higginbotham (JP) dec. Bryan Edwards, 6-5. 182—Zach Miles (W) pinned Brandon Fryda, 3:12. 195—Sam Tisdale (W) dec. Reynaldo Bautista, 10-5. 220—Scott VanDerHagen (JP) pinned Samson Shekey, 2:02. 285—Ian Hall (W) pinned Tyler Jelinek, 1:53.

Starting weight—120.

Last updated: 7:08 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print