Area players, coaches in WBCA all-star games

Print Print
Gazette staff
Wednesday, April 20, 2011

The 2011 Wisconsin Basketball Coaches Association all-star games will feature plenty of area talent.

Three area coaches were also selected, making the 10 divisional North vs. South games must-see events.

The 33rd annual WBCA all-star games for the boys will be played Saturday, June 18, at the UW Fieldhouse in Madison.

It all begins with the Division 1 game at 9 a.m., followed by Division 2 at 10:45 a.m.; Division 3 at 12:30 p.m.; Division 4 at 2:15 p.m. and Division 5 at 4 p.m. This is the first year that Division 5 has been included in the North vs. South format.

The 28th annual WBCA girls games are scheduled for Friday, June 17, also at the UW Fieldhouse. Division 1 starts the day at 9 a.m., followed by Division 2 at 10:45 a.m.; Division 3 at 12:30 p.m.; Division 4 at 2:15 p.m. and Division 5 at 4 p.m.

Janesville will have two representatives on the girls Division 1 South team. Craig’s Amanda Hamilton and Parker’s Danielle Flood, both All-Big Eight Conference first-team selections, were chosen. They will be joined on the South team by Middleton’s Kerry Gardner and Rachel Eklund.

Orfordville Parkview’s Tina Aasen will coach the girls Division 3 South team. Aasen’s daughter, Stephanie, is on the D3 South roster along with Walworth Big Foot’s Courtney Spangler, Edgerton’s Meggie Schmidt and Turner’s Megan Grover.

“I think six or seven of the girls on our roster were the Player of the Year in their conference,” Tina Aasen said. “Three of the girls are 5-foot-11, but play guard. I’ve never had the opportunity to coach that kind of size where they weren’t post players.

“And getting a chance to coach Stephanie is pretty cool. I know she’s ecstatic about it, and I’m just excited about the whole thing. It’s a great honor.”

The girls Division 2 South roster features Delavan-Darien’s Alana Cesarz and Milton’s Liz Eide. The 6-2 Cesarz, a UNLV recruit, was an Associated Press all-state first-team selection for the second straight year. The 6-3 Eide led the Red Hawks to the Division 2 state tournament.

Kyleigh Sellnow of Monroe is also on the girls Division 2 roster.

Monroe’s Michael Barrett and Bryan Tordoff headline the boys Division 2 South roster, which will be coached by Elkhorn’s Jon Handel.

Edgerton’s Mark Wanless will coach the boys Division 3 South team, with Brodhead’s J.J. Panoske and Evansville’s Dylan Erickson both on the roster.

Last updated: 4:56 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print