Sheriff's office, police department dole out awards

Print Print
Ted Sullivan
Thursday, April 14, 2011
— When Rock County Sheriff's Deputy Joshua Molter responded to a car accident, he found a person who had been ejected from the vehicle.

The Aug. 21 crash along Highway 213 south of Orfordville left the driver unresponsive and not breathing.

Molter gave the driver CPR until paramedics arrived. The driver was flown to Rockford Memorial Hospital and survived.

Molter was awarded Wednesday with the Certificate of Lifesaving Award during the Rock County Sheriff's Office annual awards ceremony. Molter also was named Deputy of the Year for being a field training officer and is slotted to be an evidence technician.

The Janesville Police Department held its awards ceremony last week, honoring the Police Officer of the Year and Civilian Employee of the Year.

The sheriff's office named Erin Wilson its Correctional Officer of the Year. Her leadership, knowledge and experience have allowed her to become a member of the hostage negotiation team and a jail training officer. She also has been helping with new inmate property-management procedures.

Diane Michaelis was named Civilian Employee of the Year for her work managing budgets. She has improved the office's accounting practices and grant management. She also creates budgetary documents and often represents the sheriff's office at meetings.

The police department selected officer Glen Hageman as its Police Officer of the Year. Hageman is the K-9 officer and has been credited with several drug arrests and seizures. He also has given many presentations on the K-9 unit and trains with the dog, Karo.

Julie L. Klusmeyer was awarded Civilian Employee of the Year. Nominations indicated she is dependable and has a positive attitude, that she is very productive and has made clerical jobs more efficient.

Rock County Sheriff's Office awards

-- Capt. Todd Christiansen, Certificate of Sheriff's Award, for his work commanding the detective bureau and SWAT Team. The SWAT Team received the 2010 State of Wisconsin Association of SWAT Personnel's Team of the Year Award. The detective bureau solved burglary cases and investigated a report of a body found that led to a homicide arrest.

-- Capt. Russ Steeber, Certificate of Sheriff's Award, for overseeing the awards system, selecting medals and coordinating the ceremony. Steeber's dedication has led to a professional ceremony.

-- Sgt. Aaron Burdick, Sheriff F. Joseph Black Leadership Award, for his leadership and dedication to the sheriff's office and community. Burdick helped create the jail's emergency response team. He also oversees the identification bureau and special investigations unit.

-- Cmdr. Troy Knudson, Community Service Award, for being on the Parkview School Board. He also is active in the Footville Church of Christ and teaches the high school youth group.

-- Clerk Chris Saxe, Certificate of Commendation, for overseeing inmate accounts. Saxe also has helped with the transition to a new inmate commissary vendor.

-- Deputy Andrew Reed, Lifesaving Award, for saving a man who was choking and not breathing. He gave the man CPR until paramedics arrived.

-- Correctional officer Jill Twitty, Lifesaving Award, for saving an inmate after an attempted suicide. Twitty found the inmate and brought her to the booking room for an evaluation.

-- Correctional officer Niles Boeche, Lifesaving Award, for helping an inmate having a seizure and possibly not breathing. Boeche treated the inmate.

-- Correctional officers James Schuler, Eric Cisneros, Robert Larson, Kris Hoscheit and Cedrick Wilson were given the Lifesaving Award for rescuing an inmate after an attempted suicide.

-- Lamar Advertising, Certificate of Citizen Award, for using the company's electronic billboards to help law enforcement. The company displays information about wanted criminals, missing persons and severe weather on its billboards.

-- The first shift patrol division, Unit Citation, for working together to arrest a robbery suspect after a chase.

-- The detective bureau, special investigations unit and bureau of identification was awarded a Unit Citation for an investigation into burglaries of homes and businesses. The investigation led to arrests in 32 burglaries.

-- The detective bureau, bureau of identification and law enforcement services first shift patrol was awarded a Unit Citation for an investigation into a body found. The investigation led to the homicide arrest of a Racine County man.

-- The SWAT Team, Unit Citation, for receiving the SWAT Team of the Year Award. The team was able to get a suspect to surrender after eight hours.

Janesville Police Department awards

-- Deputy Chief Dan Davis, Award of Excellence, for doing the work of two deputy chiefs while another deputy chief position was vacant for six months. Davis also was vital to the arrest of a suspect in a homicide investigation.

-- Officer Todd Schumann, Meritorious Service Citation, for his help in trying to save a drowning child. He dove into the water and continued searching for the child until the Janesville Fire Department arrived.

-- Officer Todd Bailey, Problem Oriented Policing Award, for fighting the increasing number of scrap-metal thefts. Bailey registered the department with a website that allows law enforcement to notify scrap metal dealers of recent thefts.

-- Officer Rodney Hirsch, Problem Oriented Policing Award, for his work on the Domestic Violence Intervention Team and for coordinating the chronic nuisance project. He also was one of the top officers on his shift.

-- Cy F. Badertscher, Citizen Service Award, for chasing and catching a burglar in his neighborhood. Badertscher was able to identify the burglar as a former Craig High School student. The burglar was arrested.

-- Allan T. Stark and Sheryl A. Stark, Citizen Service Award, for taking action when they saw a woman robbed of her purse. They followed the suspects to their vehicle and blocked them in, leading to arrests.

-- Kay L. Ball, Citizen Service Award, for improving the Village Green apartment complex. The complex used to have drug activity and other crimes. Ball has helped make the building clean and crime free.

-- Davis Citgo, Business Service Award, for providing tow service at traffic crashes. The business helps clear traffic scenes.

Last updated: 4:59 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print