Hogan earns top volleyball honors

Print Print
Friday, November 12, 2010

Caitlin Hogan stood tall in WIAC volleyball this season—both on and off the court.

The UW-Whitewater senior has been named the WIAC’s Player of the Year and honored as the Judy Kruckman scholar athlete of the year.

Hogan is joined on the first team by Whitewater’s Katy Krajnak and Sofia Sanchez. Alyssa Bauer has been named to the all-defensive team, and Kelli Trautmann is Whitewater’s representative on the sportsmanship team.

UW-Eau Claire, the WIAC champion, placed two players on the first team, including Whitewater High graduate Liz Amici. The junior led all conference players in blocks, recording a total of 142 for an average of 1.2 blocks each set this season. In addition to tallying a 13th-best 288 kills, Amici’s .267 hitting percentage was the second highest for Eau Claire and seventh-best in the WIAC.

Hogan, a graduate of New London High School, is a right side hitter. She tied for the team lead in kills (3.23 per game), was second on the team in service aces (0.49/game), blocks (0.60) and hitting percentage (.257), and third in digs (1.92). This is the third straight season Hogan made the first team, and she is the fifth Warhawk in school history to win player of the year honors.

Sanchez, a Janesville Craig High School graduate, plays outside hitter. The junior tied Hogan for the team lead in kills (3.23/game) and was fourth in the WIAC in points.

Krajnak, a senior middle blocker, led the Warhawks in blocks (0.82/game) and hitting percentage (.378). She was third on the team in kills (3.01), and was one of just two regulars to go the season without a reception error.

Whitewater finished 6-2 in the WIAC, tying for third place. The 14th-ranked Warhawks also were third in the WIAC tournament are 27-7 overall. They begin NCAA Division III regional tournament play today against Wartburg College of Waveryly, Iowa, at Carthage College in Kenosha.

It is Whitewater’s 19th straight NCAA tournament appearance.

All-WIAC volleyball


Liz Amici, Eau Claire, jr., middle blocker

Aleisha Bagin, Oshkosh, soph., outside hitter.

Christina Cahoon, Oshkosh, sr., libero.

Erin Green, River Falls, soph., middle hitter.

Melissa Hillebrand, Platteville, sr., outside hiiter,.

Caitlin Hogan, Whitewater, sr., outside hitter.

Briana Kaiser, Platteville, jr., middle hitter.

Katy Krajnak, Whitewater, sr., middle hitter.

Sofia Sanchez, Whitewater, jr., outside hitter.

Ali Sikic, Platteville, jr., setter.

Andrea Smith, Oshkosh, sr., outside hitter.

Rachel Ver Voort, Eau Claire, sr., outside hitter.

Player of the Year—Caitlin Hogan ,Whitewater.

Coach of the Year—Kim Wudi, Eau Claire.

Judy Kruckman Scholar—Athlete—Caitlin Hogan, Whitewater.


Kayla Ashland, La Crosse, fr., middle hitter.

Morgan Bartkowiak, Stevens Point, soph., middle hitter.

Christina DeGroot, Whitewater, jr., setter.

Andrea Felton, Oshkosh, soph., outside hitter/setter.

Danielle Gibbemeyer, River Falls, soph., outside hitter.

Stephanie Kirchner, Platteville, fr., middle hitter.

Amanda Lessner, Eau Claire, sr., setter.

Blair Murphy, Eau Claire, sr., libero.


Alyssa Bauer, Whitewater, jr., libero.

Christina Cahoon, Oshkosh, sr., libero.

Abby Carey, Platteville, sr., libero.

Blair Murphy, Eau Claire, sr., libero.


Brittney Cote, Oshkosh, jr., libero/defensive specialist.

Samantha Kaminski, River Falls, sr., outside hitter.

Amanda Lessner, Eau Claire, sr., setter.

Stephanie Nichols, Stout, sr., outside hitter.

Liz Schlobohm, La Crosse, jr., setter.

Lisa Schumacher, Platteville, sr., middle hitter/outside hitter.

Kelli Trautmann, Whitewater, jr., setter/libero.

Kitty Tynen, Superior, fr., outside hitter.

Kaitlin Wolfe, Stevens Point, sr., outside hitter/setter.

Last updated: 2:11 pm Thursday, December 20, 2012

Print Print