Rock County duo on first team

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Tuesday, November 2, 2010

UW-Rock County's James Baines and Nick Miller were named to the All-Wisconsin Collegiate Conference soccer team Monday.

Baines, a 2009 Janesville Craig graduate, and Miller, a 2009 Milton graduate, were the Rattlers' co-captains. Both two-year starters, Baines played defensive midfielder, and Miller was the sweeper.

Baines scored four goals and made four assists for the season.

"James is a tall guy and very skilled with the ball," UW-Rock coach Grant McNall said. "He's one of the most well-rounded players I've ever had."

Miller was honorable mention last season.

"Nick had a sprained ankle early in the season," McNall said. "He hit a rough spot, but once he was healthy, we made our playoff push. We won our last three games, and Nick was a big reason why."

Meanwhile, the Rattlers' Grant Jahns and goalkeeper Jose Montero were named to the WCC second team.

"Jose really stepped up his game," McNall said. "He had two shutouts to end the season."

Montero, a Beloit Memorial graduate, stopped two penalty kicks and had three shutouts for the season.

Jahns, a Parker graduate, scored a team-leading nine goals, and tied Craig graduate Tyler O'Rourke, an honorable mention selection, with a team-leading seven assists.

"Grant is a very fiery presence," McNall said. "I told him I wanted him to score goals, and he did."

Dan McCulloch of UW-Washington and Andy Pohlkotte of UW-Fox Valley are the defensive and offensive players of the year, respectively. Fox Valley's Wil Kraut-kramer is coach of the year, and UW-Marathon earned the sportsmanship award.


First Team

Andy Pohlkotte, UW-Fox Valley; Bryce Bartelt, UW-Fond du Lac; Dan McCulloch, UW-Washington; Levi Stroik, UW-Fox Valley; Dan Moren, UW-Sheboygan; James Baines, UW-Rock County; Nick Miller, UW-Rock County; Jordy Dale, UW-Waukesha; Kyle Wagner, UW-Washington; Hue Yang, UW-Sheboygan; Brandon Blake, UW-Fond du Lac.

Second Team

Sam Mowrer, UW-Marathon; Justin Shrader, UW-Baraboo; Colin Van Pay, UW-Fox Valley; Nick Perry, UW-Fond du Lac; Grant Jahns, UW-Rock County; Jeb Strobel, UW-Baraboo; Jimmy Mani, UW-Sheboygan; Jose Montero, UW-Rock County; Ryan Ely, UW-Marathon.

Honorable Mention

Tim Thornton, UW-Marathon; Phong Xiong, UW-Marathon; Mike Haasch, UW-Sheboygan; Josh Foshag, UW-Washington; Tyler O'Rourke, UW-Rock County; Matt Cardinal, UW-Fond du Lac; Jake Dollinger, UW-Fox Valley,

Defensive player of the year—Dan McCulloch, UW-Washington.

Offensive player of the year—Andy Pohlkotte

Coach of the Year—Wil Krautkramer.

Team sportsmanship award—UW-Marathon.

Last updated: 3:41 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print