Whippet boys earn regional track title

Print Print
Gazette Staff
Tuesday, May 25, 2010

Whitewater High took its first step Monday night toward its goal of winning the WIAA Division 2 boys state track and field title.

Led by Jacob Dennis-Oehling and Tony Floyd, the Whippets ran away with the Clinton Regional title with 154.50 points. Lake Mills was second with 112, with Clinton (97) and East Troy (92) rounding out the top four.

Lakeside Lutheran won the Clinton Regional girls title with 134 points. East Troy, led by Jasmine Haines, was second with 113 points, followed by Whitewater third with 101.

Dennis-Oehling won both the 100 (11.54) and 200 (22.84) and was a member of the Whippets regional champion 1,600 relay team. Dennis is the defending state champion in the 200.

Floyd, who took fifth in the state 110 high hurdles last year, finished first in the 110 high hurdles (15.74) and 300 intermediate hurdles (41.84) and was in the 1,600 relay team.

Other Whitewater boys regional champions were Dawson Miller in the 800 (2:03.64), Loussaint Minett in the discus (166-10) and Tony Bilderback in the triple jump (44-3).

East Troy's Cory Zaeske finished first in three individual events.

The senior won the 400 (52.14), long jump (21.1.25) and high jump (5-10).

In the girls competition, Haines won the 200 (26.34) and 400 (58.84). Haines finished second in the 200 in the state meet last year.

Janesville's Ellen Schwartz, a member of the champion Lakeside Lutheran squad, qualified for the sectional meet by taking second in the 300 low hurdles (48.14). Schwartz also ran in the Warriors' sectional-qualifying 1,600 and 3,200 relay teams.

In the Division 2 regional at Orfordville Parkview, Monroe earned the boys regional team title, while McFarland edged the Cheesemakers for the girls championship.

The Monroe boys scored 138 points to outdistance runner-up Edgerton, which had 100.

McFarland scored 117 points to win the girls title by just three points over Monroe.

Parkview's Tailor Hartman and Edgerton's Tyler Dobratz each earned two regional individual titles.

Hartman won the 100 (11.23) and 200 (22.96), while Dobratz won the 110 high hurdles (15.67) and the shot put (44-11.5).

Other area boys regional champs included Edgerton's Lucas Langer in the 400 and Travis Spegal in the triple jump.

Brodhead had three individual regional champs in the girls meet. Shannon Klein won the 400, Heather Clankie won the discus, and Rachel Nolte won the pole vault.

Evansville's Rachel Bromley won the triple jump.

Qualifiers from the Parkview Regional advance to Thursday's sectional at Boscobel. The Clinton Regional qualifiers compete in the Whitewater Sectional.

Mulligan leads Badger

Lake Geneva Badger's Megan Mulligan led the Badgers to the WIAA Division 1 girls title at the Waterford Regional.

Mulligan swept the 100 (12.86), 200 (26.71) and 400 (1:01.65) to help the Badgers accumulate 134 points. Burlington tied the Badgers for the team title. Badger also won the 800 and 3,200 relays.

Elkhorn's Sarah Woelert won the shot put (37-1) and was second in the discus.

Elkhorn's Dan Sullivan won both the 800 and 1,600, but it was not enough to keep Kenosha Bradford from earning the boys regional team title at Waterford.

Sullivan took the 800 in 2:00.19 and the 1,600 in 4:42.24 to help the Elks collect 109 points. Bradford won the boys title with 136, while Burlington finished with 110.

Elkhorn's John Cooper won the discus title (127-5), while Skyler O'Laughlin took the high jump, clearing 6-6.

Badger's Justin Bowers won the long jump (22-9) and was a member of the Badger winning 400 relay team.

Badger's Jarek Kunz won the triple jump (44-1.25) and also was on the 400 relay team.

Last updated: 1:46 pm Thursday, December 13, 2012

Print Print